Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Workforce Development

Assembly Bill 938

Relating to: various changes to the unemployment insurance law, requiring an audit to be conducted by the Legislative Audit Bureau, requiring approval by the Joint Committee on Finance of certain federally authorized unemployment benefits, and authorizing the secretary of administration to transfer employees from any executive branch agency to the Department of Workforce Development for certain purposes.

By Representatives Armstrong, Petryk, Penterman, August, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, James, Katsma, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Oldenburg, Petersen, Plumer, Schraa, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Tittl, Tusler, Vorpagel, Wichgers, Zimmerman and Born; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Bernier, Darling, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein, Nass and Stroebel.

January 31, 2022 Referred to Committee on Workforce Development

February 08, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Petryk; Representatives
		Dittrich, Gundrum, Edming, Murphy,
		Oldenburg, Rozar, Armstrong, Shankland,
		Sinicki, Andraca and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Representative Dave Armstrong
- Chase Martin Opportunity Solutions Project
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

Appearances Against

- Gabe Dieguez Legal Action Wisconsin
- Brenda Lewison Legal Action of Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Kathy Kilgore - Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association

• Bill Smith - National Federation of Independent Businesses

 Registrations
 Against

 •
 None.

 Registrations
 for Information

• None.

February 10, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:(12)Representative Petryk; Representatives
Dittrich, Gundrum, Edming, Murphy,
Oldenburg, Rozar, Armstrong, Shankland,
Sinicki, Andraca and Drake.Absent:(0)None.Excused:(0)None.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Armstrong that **Assembly Bill 938** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Petryk; Representatives Dittrich, Gundrum, Edming, Murphy, Oldenburg, Rozar and Armstrong.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Shankland, Sinicki, Andraca and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

BJ Dernbach Committee Clerk