## **Senate**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Economic and Workforce Development**

#### Senate Bill 981

Relating to: apprenticeship and youth apprenticeship completion awards, career and technical education incentive grants and completion awards, technical preparation programs in school districts and technical colleges, creating an individual income tax subtraction for expenses paid for apprenticeship programs, and making an appropriation.

By Senators Stafsholt, Feyen and Ballweg; cosponsored by Representatives Oldenburg, Zimmerman, Petryk, Armstrong, Dittrich, Drake, Gundrum, James, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Schraa, Skowronski, Swearingen, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wittke, Kuglitsch and Vruwink.

February 17, 2022 Referred to Committee on Economic and Workforce Development

### February 23, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(5)	Senator Feyen; Senators Testin, Jacque,
		Ringhand and Pfaff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

### Appearances For

- John Schulze Associated builders and contractors
- Shaun Mchugh Self
- Cindy Buchko Construction Business Group
- Senator Rob Stafsholt 10th Senate District
- Rep Loren Oldenburg
- Evan Stephenson Carpenters
- Andrew Disch Carpenters union
- Lisa Perkofski Carpenters

### Appearances Against

- Layla Merrifield WTC District Boards
- Dr Morna Foy WTCS

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

- Brad Boycks Wisconsin builders association
- Rob Richard Wisconsin electrical coop assoc
- Chris Larowe Wisconsin energy group
- Bob Welch Stride

- Bob Welch Local 139 operating engineers
- Representative Warren Petryk
- Legislative Director Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Rachel Ver Velde WMC
- Tom Hickey Carpenters union
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin hotel and lodging association
- State Director BILL G SMITH NFIB

## Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• Legislative Liaison Jenifer Cole - Dept. of Workforce Development

## March 10, 2022 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Tim Lakin Committee Clerk