Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and Ethics

Senate Bill 211

Relating to: applications for absentee ballots.

By Senators Darling, Stroebel, Wimberger, Ballweg, Bradley, Felzkowski, Feyen, Jacque, Nass, Petrowski and Wanggaard; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Edming, Gundrum, Jagler, Knodl, Krug, Murphy, Neylon, Skowronski, Spiros, VanderMeer and Wichgers.

March 16, 2021 Ethics Referred to Committee on Elections, Election Process Reform and

April 15, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Alberta Darling
- Rep David Steffen ASD04

Appearances Against

- Advocacy Coordinator Stephanie Birmingham Options for Independent Living
- Anjali Bhasin Wisconsin Conservation Voices
- Ramsey Lee Self
- Debra Cronmiller Leauge of Women Voters of Wisc
- Larry Brown Self
- Jim Turk Self

Appearances for Information Only

- Executive Director Claire Woodall-Vogg City of Milwaukee Elections Commission
- Kim Pytleski Wisc County Clerks Association

Registrations For

- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Joanne Laufenberg Self
- Art Binhack
- Matt Batzel Himself

Registrations Against

 Andrea Kaminski - League of Women Voters of Wisconsin

Registrations for Information Only

None.

May 19, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling, Stroebel, Smith and Roys.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Stroebel, seconded by Senator Darling that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling and Stroebel.

Noes: (2) Senators Smith and Roys.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Darling, seconded by Senator Stroebel that **Senate Bill 211** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Bernier; Senators Darling and Stroebel.

Noes: (2) Senators Smith and Roys.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Nathan Duerkop

Committee Clerk