Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 22

Relating to: the retail sale of intoxicating liquor by the glass for consumption away from the licensed premises.

By Senators Felzkowski, Ballweg, Feyen, Larson, Ringhand, Testin, Wimberger, Stroebel and Roys; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Anderson, Brooks, Callahan, Dittrich, Hintz, Hong, Kitchens, Knodl, Milroy, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Sortwell, Summerfield, Swearingen, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Drake and Thiesfeldt.

January 28, 2021 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

February 04, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District
- Representative David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- President and CEO Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Mr Eric Christenson Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Paul Salzwedel Tall Paul's LLC
- Pete Madland Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Mr George Klaetsch DISCUS
- Tom Fonfara Wisconsin Craft Beverage Association
- Mark Garthwaite Wisconsin Craft Beverage Coalition

Appearances Against

• Julia Sherman - Self

Appearances for Information Only

• Mr James Bohl - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

Evan Hughes - Central Standard Craft Distillery Wis.
Distillers Guild Wis. Craft Beverage Coalition

- Will Glass Wisconsin Craft Beverage Coalition & The Brewing Market
- Ryan Prellwliz Wis Craft Beverage Coalition
- Mr Guy Rehorst Great Lakes Distillery
- Executive Vice President Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Scott Stenger Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Lobbyist Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Association
- Owner Chris Wiken Packing House Restaurant
- Rep Christine Sinicki 20th Assembly District

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 19, 2021 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski,

Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 22 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (4) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Roys and Smith.

Noes: (1) Senator Bradley.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 4, Noes 1

Mark Radcliffe

Committee Clerk