Senate Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

Senate Bill 621

Relating to: legislative redistricting.

By Senator LeMahieu; cosponsored by Representative Vos.

October 20, 2021 Referred to Committee on Government Operations, Legal Review and Consumer Protection

October 28, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski,

Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Majority Leader Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Speaker Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Sachin Chheda Fair Maps Coalition
- Debra Cronmiller League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Robert Yablon
- Matthew Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Executive Director Jay Heck Common Cause Wisconsin
- Tim Cullen Common Cause Wisconsin
- Calena Roberts SEIU
- Stephanie Johnson SEIU
- Rob Haskins SEIU
- Cheryl Maranto North Shore Fair Maps
- Nick Levendofsky Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Joan Schwarz League of Women Voters Dane County
- Ann Muenster
- Grace Quinn
- Sally Huntington
- Rachel Soliday
- John Henderson

- Jean Henderson
- Conrad Anderson
- Toim White
- Geralyn Leannah
- Patti Herman Columbia County Fair Maps
- Michael Nichols
- Samuel Schmitt
- Wendy Sue Johnson
- Kathleen Levy
- Robert Malina
- Charlene Warner
- Mark Scheffler
- Terry Schoonover Fair Maps Coalition
- Deborah Patel North Shore Fair Maps
- Ellen Ochs League of Women Voters Greater Chippewa Valley
- Henry Vekker
- Victor Weirp
- Jean Radtke Fair Maps Coalition
- Lisa Williams
- Ellen Magee
- Cecile Stelzer-Johnson
- Colleen Robson
- Rebecca Cole
- Lori Toso Fair Maps Coalition
- Mary Kay Baum Wisconsin Network for Peace and Justice
- John Coover
- Charles Uphoff
- Cheyenne Otto Progress North
- Jade Livingston Progress North
- Leon Radant Juneau County Democrats
- Leslie DeMuth
- Steve Bouder
- Jeannine RamRamsey
- Kelly Haslam League of Women Voters
- Jenelle Ludwig Krause Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- Maureen Ash Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- George Jesien Team Gold
- Maia Pearson Rise
- Kevin Solomon Rise
- Lena Eng

- Mike DeRubis Wisconsin Fair Maps Coalition
- Bruce Jamison
- Shirley Smith
- Vicki Avo-Schackmoth
- Cheryl Maplethorpe
- Amanda Peterson
- Louise Mollinger
- Susan Johnson League of Women Voters Janesville
- Jane Bengow
- Mark Fuller
- Charles Bradley Jr
- Nancy Hetzel
- Susan Adams League of Women Voters Beloit
- Patricia Zody League of Women Voters Beloit
- Victoria Hildebrandt
- Janet Brandt Iowa County Fair Maps
- Myra Enloe
- Jacob Barrows
- Mary Lisa Jordan
- JT Covelli Moms Demand Gunsense
- Beverly Mazur
- John Calabrese Our Wisconsin Revolution
- Andy Hauck Smart TD
- Joel Jacobson
- Ed Morganroth Jr
- Mark Peters
- Joni Anderson Our Wisconsin revolution
- Marianne Ewig
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
 Wisconsin
- Michael Dickman Take Back Wisconsin
- Haakon Gulbrandsen
- Maureen Plunkett Wisconsin Unitarian Universalist State Action Network
- Mary Wallace
- Tony Castaneda
- Joshua Platt
- Peggy Haas Menomonee Falls Action Team
- Steve Books

Appearances for Information Only

Rick Bradley

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

- Joseph Fritz
- Quinn Marita
- Barbara Peterson American Association of University
 Women
- Liz Lusk
- John Roger
- Kathryn Corio League of Women Voters
- Anneliese Waggoner League of Women Voters
- Valerie Murphy
- Adrienne Faerber
- Dana Johnson
- Patricia Ryan
- Joy A. E. Morgan Raging Grannis of Madison
- Cindy Shallig
- Hussein Amah
- Jamie Freier
- Laureen Chagnon
- Shiquita Spencer SEIU
- Demetrica Shipp SEIU
- Arielle Yanasak SEIU
- Rachael Steidl
- Nathan Gray SEIU
- Julie L Sacther
- Megan O'Halloran
- Emma Czerapodo
- Tom Poppe
- Diane Wais
- Senator Melissa Agard 16th Senate District
- Raymond Luick
- Paul Sickel SEIU
- Angela White
- Nicole Riepert SEIU
- Sathena Gillespie SEIU
- Rahsahn Rainey SEIU
- Eric Rahelm Our Wisconsin Revolution
- Andre Walton Our Wisconsin Revolution
- William Walter
- Sybil Better
- Christy Brooks PerSisters
- Jamie K Riebe

- Betsey Caroni
- Sheldon Gross
- Carnestine Moss
- Vicki Berenson Wisconsin Faith Voices for Justice
- Tom Dosch
- Bruce Kahn
- Patricia Patterson
- Lauren Koshere
- Ken Eriners Jefferson County Fair Maps
- E Sweeney
- Nancy Gunder League of Women Voters Dane County
- Scott Spoolman
- Edward Ream
- Jill Jokela
- Cynthia Drury
- Lynn Persson
- A Johnson
- John Lehman
- John Scott Fair Mqps
- Roe Parker
- Rod Anderson
- Crystal Miller
- Tre Temperilli
- Representative Jodi Emerson 91st Assembly District
- Charlene Becher Fair Maps Coalition
- Representative Dianne Hesselbein 79th Assembly District
- Hildy Feen
- Brook Soltbedt
- Tyler Halverson
- Gail Martinellli
- Representative Robin Vining 14th Assembly District
- Supervisor Andrew Schauer Dane County Supervisory District 21
- Thomas McCoy
- Sally McCoy
- Senator Chris Larson 7th Senate District
- Rebecca Alwin
- Margaret Garties
- Sarah Ferguson
- William Levy
- Sara Ramaker League of Women Voters
- Barb Paterick
- Representative Mark Spreitzer 45th Assembly District

- Jason Rivera
- Representative Greta Neubauer 66th Assembly District
- Barbara Chase
- Senator Tim Carpenter 3rd Senate District
- Marjorie Schuett
- Patricia Elson
- Representative Sara Rodriguez 13th Assembly District
- Laura Gottlieb
- Ruth Ann Berkholtz
- Jasmine Edwards
- Joy Cardin
- Bob Baxter Wisconsin Education Association Council
- Representative Francesca Hong 76th Assembly District
- Christine Clevnents League of Women Voters Dane County
- Lori Wagner
- Cheryl O'Connor
- Peggy Haas Menomonee Falls Action Team
- Russel Novkov Fair Maps Coalition
- Mitchell Nussbaum
- Representative LaKeshia Myers 12th Assembly District

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 04, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (5) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski, Bradley, Roys and Smith.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Felzkowski, seconded by Senator Bradley that **Senate Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski and Bradley.

Noes: (2) Senators Roys and Smith.

SENATE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Bradley, seconded by Senator Felzkowski that **Senate Bill 621** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Stroebel; Senators Felzkowski and Bradley.

Noes: (2) Senators Roys and Smith.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

T. I. G

John Soper Committee Clerk