Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Senate Bill 394

Relating to: advanced practice registered nurses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Marklein, Stroebel and Jacque; cosponsored by Representatives Cabral-Guevara, Magnafici, Brandtjen, Brooks, Callahan, Gundrum, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Macco, Murphy, Petersen, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Snyder, Tauchen, Tittl, Tusler, Wichgers, Riemer, Skowronski and Dittrich.

June 10, 2021 Referred to Committee on Health

July 28, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga, Bradley,

Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Clinical Nurse Specialist Pamela Watson-Konrath WIACNS
- Dr. Mary Beck Metzger Wisconsin Nurses Association Rock River Community Clinic
- Nurse Practitioner Cathy DeValk-Holl
- Family Nurse Practitioner Jean Roedl Wisconsin Nurses Association St Croix Tribe APRN Forum Board
- Dr Joanne Archer WIACNS
- SNM Sarah Tyler-Peterson Wi Affiliate Of American College of Midwives
- Dr Lisa Hanson Wisconsin Affiliate Of American College Of Nurse-Midwives
- Owner, OEM Fabricators, Inc. Mark Tyler OEM Fabricators
- Clinical Nurse Specialust MaryAnn Moon WIACS Supportive of all 4 APRN roles
- Dr Gina Bryan
- Jenna Palzkill WIANA
- Professor Jay Gottschalk Wisconsin Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists
- Rep Rachael Cabral-Guevara Author

- Tim Johnson WIANA
- Rep Gae Magnafici
- Victoria Fueger Nursing
- Ms Margaret Schmelzer Public health nursing
- Dr Jeff Bauer Self

Appearances Against

- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Erik Kanter WI Academy of Family Physicians
- Dr Nicole Hemkes Physician for Patient Protection
- Dr Jay Mesrobian WI Anesthesiologist Association
- Dr Kyle Nichols WI Anesthesiologists
- Dr Joe Strosin WI Anesthesiologists Assoc
- Dr Elizabeth Yun WI Anesthesiologists Assoc

Appearances for Information Only

- Barbara Nichols Wisconsi n center for nursling
- General Counsel Matthew Stanford Wisconsin Hospital Association

Registrations For

- Nurse practitioner Tammy Francour
- CNS Kristina Strupp WICNS
- Nurse practitioner Terri Vandenhouten
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Susan Berget
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Therese Moynihan APRN Modernization Bill 394
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Katie Brown
- Family Nurse Practitioner Kimberly Day APRN
- Dr. April Garcia
- CNS Inderjit Pooni
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Kathleen Kochanski APRN Modernization Bill 394
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Allison Wier Self
- Cristin Phillips
- Kristi Opper
- Kathy Back
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Rebecca McConeghy
- Clinical nurse Specialist Jill Redding
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Anne Putzer Self
- Clinical nurse specialist TINA Nielsen Myself
- Nurse practitioner Jaclyn Wirkus
- Rebecca Hogan WPS Insurance
- Clinical Nurse Specialist Annette Garcia Self

- Rebecca Hogan American College of Nurse-Midwives Wisconsin Affiliate
- Steve Lyons Health Tradition Health Plan
- Steve Lyons WEA Trust
- Gina Dennik-Champion Wisconsin Nurses Associat
- Dean Janet Krejci Marquette University Nursing
- Amy Boyer UnitedHealthcare
- Dr Richard Schmelzer md Primary care physicians
- Diane Schadewald Supporting the Aprn modernization act
- Senator Rob Stafsholt
- Rebecca Hogan WPS Insurance
- Scott Manley WMC
- Ms Beth Peterman Family nurse practitioners
- Dr Susan K Riesch APRNs
- Ms Elizabeth Giese APRNs

Registrations Against

- Dr Robert Purtock
- Lillian Golbach Baker

Registrations for Information Only

Jodi Wiebelhaus

December 06, 2021 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga, Bradley, Erpenbach and Carpenter.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Bradley that **Senate Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (3) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga and Bradley.

Noes: (2) Senators Erpenbach and Carpenter.

SENATE SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Moved by Senator Testin, seconded by Senator Kooyenga that **Senate Bill 394** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (3) Senator Testin; Senators Kooyenga and Bradley.

Noes: (2) Senators Erpenbach and Carpenter.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 3, Noes 2

Heather Smith

Heather Smith Committee Clerk