Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Insurance, Licensing and Forestry

Senate Bill 259

Relating to: the regulation and licensure of genetic counselors, creating a genetic counselors affiliated credentialing board, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.

By Senators Testin, Darling, Erpenbach, Johnson, Larson, Pfaff and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Steffen, Rozar, Brostoff, Billings, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Duchow, Goyke, Kitchens, Kuglitsch, Skowronski, Tittl and Wichgers.

March 31, 2021 Referred to Committee on Insurance, Licensing and Forestry

May 26, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Felzkowski; Senators Stafsholt, Jagler,

L. Taylor and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Representative David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Jessica Grzybowski Wisconsin Genetic Counselors Association
- Peter Levonian UW Health
- Becky Pabst Gundersen Health System
- Genetic Counselor Gina Londre Self
- Director Genetic Counseling Christina Zaleski Self

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Tony Langenohl Marshfield Clinic
- Mark Grapentine Wisconsin Medical Society
- Megan Benoy UW Health Genetic Counseling
- Benjamin O'Connell Gundersen Health System
- Alex Cummings
- April Hall Self
- Mrs Danuta Hietpas Myself

- Kate Orland
- Andrea Nagl
- Genetic Counselor Kate Stuewe Myself
- Ian Orland
- Laura Birkeland Self
- Sara Zoran Self
- Sandra Adams
- Anna Zakas
- Ashley Kuhl
- Catherine Reiser
- Thea Johnson
- Emily Singh
- Kelcy Smith simmer
- Erin Severson
- Laura Mcfarlane
- Abigail Freeman
- Angela Tess
- Amy Donahue
- Amy Stettner
- Alyson Krokosky
- Grace Anboba
- Amy Ott
- Laura Mcfarlane
- Cory Smid
- Kristina Garcia
- Amy Schoenebeck
- Theresa Shuck
- Cristin Griffis
- Linda Reis
- Connie Schultz
- Amanda Jacquart
- Angela Pickert
- Sasha Bauer
- Emma Herlche
- Kara Schoeffel
- Amy White
- Sonja Henry
- Kendra Eaves
- Eric Manthei
- Alison Thompsen
- Samantha Stachowiak
- Stephanie Dugan
- Kimberly Ulrich
- Jennifer Guerts

- Victoria Anderson
- Rachel Berliner
- Margo Grady
- Kimberly Anderson
- Debra Wham

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 03, 2021 **Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot**

Present: (5) Senator Felzkowski; Senators Stafsholt, Jagler,

L. Taylor and Ringhand.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by that Senate Bill 259 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Felzkowski; Senators Stafsholt,

Jagler, L. Taylor and Ringhand.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Stamena Ivanov Committee Clerk