Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

Senate Bill 680

Relating to: changing the conditions of liability for worker's compensation benefits for emergency medical services practitioners.

By Senators Jacque, Wanggaard, Bewley, Agard, Ringhand and Smith; cosponsored by Representatives Horlacher, Considine, Emerson, Allen, Andraca, Armstrong, Billings, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Conley, Dittrich, Drake, Edming, Hebl, Kerkman, Kitchens, B. Meyers, Milroy, Mursau, Neubauer, Ohnstad, Plumer, Pope, Riemer, Rozar, Shankland, Shelton, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Stubbs, Subeck, Thiesfeldt, Vining, Vruwink, Spreitzer and Sinicki.

November 11, 2021 Referred to Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

February 17, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt, Wirch and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque Author
- Rep. Cody Horlacher Co-Author
- Madison Krenz Cambridge EMS
- Chase Kaczmarski WEMSA
- Brian Donaldson WEMSA
- Kyle Wells
- Spencer Nett Dells-Delton EMS
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters Assn of WI
- Devon Anders PFFW

Appearances Against

- BJ Demar Waupun Fire Department
- Christopher Garrison Sun Prairie Fire Department
- Joe Pulvermacher Fitchburg Fire Department
- George Klaetsch WI State Fire Chiefs Assn

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Joe Strohl - PFFW

- Kathryn Floyd FitchRona EMS
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Assn
- Bob Salov
- Paul Blount Cambridge Area EMS

Registrations Against

- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Andrew Franken WI Insurance Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 23, 2022 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt,

Wirch and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Nass, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Bill 680** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt, Wirch and Johnson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk