Senate

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

Senate Bill 681

Relating to: changing the conditions of liability for worker's compensation benefits for emergency medical services practitioners, emergency medical responders, volunteer fire fighters, correctional officers, emergency dispatchers, coroners and coroner staff, and medical examiners and medical examiner staff.

By Senators Jacque, Marklein, Agard, Ballweg, Bewley and L. Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Armstrong, Brandtjen, Doyle, Milroy, Mursau, Plumer, Ramthun, Subeck and Schraa.

November 11, 2021 Referred to Committee on Labor and Regulatory Reform

February 17, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt,

Wirch and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque Author
- BJ Demar Waupun Fire Department
- Christopher Garrison Sun Prairie Fire Department
- Joe Pulvermacher Fitchburg Fire Department
- George Klaetsch WI State Fire Chiefs Assn
- Madison Krenz Cambridge EMS
- Chase Kaczmarski WEMSA
- Brian Donaldson WEMSA
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters Assn of WI

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Brenda Wood - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

- Tom Fonfara WI State Firefighters Assn
- Joe Strohl PFFW
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Assn
- Bob Salov
- Paul Blount Cambridge Area EMS

- Rep. Dave Armstrong Author
- David Litton WI State Fire Chiefs Assn

Registrations Against

- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Andrew Franken WI Insurance Alliance

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 23, 2022 Executive Session Held by Paper Ballot

Present: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt, Wirch and Johnson.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Senator Nass, seconded by Senator Wanggaard that **Senate Bill 681** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (5) Senator Nass; Senators Wanggaard, Stafsholt, Wirch and Johnson.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 0

Mike Mikalsen Committee Clerk