Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 56

Relating to: impoundment of vehicles used in certain reckless driving offenses. By Representatives Donovan, Knodl, Allen, Baldeh, Binsfeld, Duchow, Gundrum, S. Johnson, Kurtz, Maxey, Murphy, Myers, Nedweski, Novak, O'Connor, Ortiz-Velez, Rettinger and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Nass, L. Johnson, Ballweg, Jacque and Taylor.

February 20, 2023 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

February 28, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Appearances For

- Rep. Bob Donovan 84th Assembly District
- Mayor Cavalier Johnson City of Milwaukee
- Sen. LaTonya Johnson 6th Senate District
- Abbie Strong
- Michael Steffes Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Aaron Chapin WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Dean Smith Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Alex Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- Rob Lloyd Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Amy Boyer AAA Wisconsin
- Natalie White Professional Insurance Agents of Wisconsin
- Sen. Steve Nass 11th Senate District
- Rep. Dan Knodl 24th Assembly District

- Toni Herkett League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- rep. LaKeshia Myers 12th Assembly District
- Sen. Tim Carpenter 3rd Senate District

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 07, 2023 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt,
Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa,
Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire,
Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Madison.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 56** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Schutt, Duchow, Novak, Green, Donovan, Schraa, Steffen, Wichgers, Sortwell, Drake, McGuire, Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (1) Representative Madison.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Cameil Bowler
Committee Clerk