Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Ways and Means

Assembly Bill 272

Relating to: an income and franchise tax exemption for broadband expansion grants.

By Representatives Summerfield, Armstrong, Callahan, Edming, Green, Hurd, Krug, Kurtz, Magnafici, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Petryk, Pronschinske, Rozar, Sapik, Shankland, Snyder, Steffen, Subeck, Swearingen, VanderMeer and Allen; cosponsored by Senators Quinn, Bradley, James, Nass, Stafsholt, Testin, Tomczyk, Ballweg and Felzkowski.

May 17, 2023 Referred to Committee on Ways and Means

August 30, 2023 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks,

Snyder, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and

Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Dittrich.

Appearances For

- Representative Rob Summerfield 67th WI Assembly District
- Representative Karen Hurd 68th WI Assembly District
- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association
- Michael O'Malley Nsight & Cellcom

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rob Richard Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association
- Senator Romaine Quinn 25th WI Senate District
- Jennifer Wickman Cooperative Network
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

- Hannah Huffman TDS
- Tom Moore Wisconsin Cable Communications Association
- Josh Motzer Brightspeed
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

September 12, 2023 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Armstrong, seconded by Representative Callahan that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Gustafson, seconded by Representative Armstrong that **Assembly Bill 272** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Macco; Representatives Brooks, Snyder, Dittrich, Armstrong, Callahan, Binsfeld, Gustafson, Conley, Ohnstad, Riemer and Baldeh.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Reanna Rasmussen Committee Clerk