
   

STATE OF WISCONSIN 
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD 

 
IN THE MATTER OF RULEMAKING : ORDER OF THE 

PROCEEDINGS BEFORE THE  : PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT   : AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING 
AFFILIATED CREDENTIALING BOARD : BOARD 

      : ADOPTING RULES 
      :       (CLEARINGHOUSE RULE 22-064) 

 
ORDER 

 

An order of the Physician Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board to create PA 1 to 4, 
relating to Physician Assistants. 

 
 
Analysis prepared by the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

 
ANALYSIS 

 
Statutes interpreted: s. 448.973 (1), Stats. 
 

Statutory authority: ss. 15.085 (5) (b) and 448.973 (1), Stats. 
 

Explanation of agency authority: 

Section 15.085 (5) (b) states that “[each affiliated credentialing board] shall promulgate 
rules for its own guidance and for the guidance of the trader or profession to which it 

pertains, and define and enforce professional conduct and unethical practices not 
inconsistent with the law relating to the particular trade or profession.” 

 
Section 448.973 (1) states that: “ 

(a) The board shall promulgate rules implementing s. 448.9785. 

(b) The board shall promulgate rules establishing continuing education requirements 
for physician assistants. 

(c) The board may promulgate other rules to carry out the purposes of this 
subchapter, including any of the following 

1. Rules defining what constitutes unprofessional conduct for physician 

assistants for purposes of s. 448.978 (2) (d). 
2. Rules under s. 448.977 (2).” 

 
Related statute or rule: None. 

 
Plain language analysis: 

The objective of the proposed rules is to implement the statutory changes from 2021 

Wisconsin Act 23. 
 



   

Summary of, and comparison with, existing or proposed federal regulation: None. 
 

Summary of public comments received on statement of scope and a description of 

how and to what extent those comments and feedback were taken into account in 

drafting the proposed rule: None. 
 
Comparison with rules in adjacent states: 

Illinois: Physician Assistants in Illinois are licensed through the Illinois Department of 
Financial and Professional Regulation. The Physician Assistant Practice Act of 1987 

governs the practice of physician assistants in Illinois and includes statutes on licensure, 
collaboration, prescribing, continuing education, and grounds for disciplinary action. 
Physician Assistants in Illinois are required to complete 50 hours of continuing education 

per 2-year license renewal cycle [225 Illinois Compiled Statutes 95]. 
 

Part 1350 of the Illinois Administrative Code further details rules for physician assistants 
in the areas of licensure, collaboration, and prescribing. These sections also detail scope 
and function, employment, approved programs, and unprofessional conduct [Illinois 

Administrative Code s. 1350]. 

 
Iowa: Physician Assistants in Iowa are licensed through the Iowa Department of Public 

Health and the Board of Physician Assistants. Chapter 148C of the Iowa Code governs 
the practice of physician assistants in Iowa and includes statutes on licensure and grants 
administrative rulemaking authority to their Board [Iowa Code ch. 148C]. 

 
Chapters 326 through 329 of the Professional Licensure Division Section 645 of the Iowa 

Administrative Code further details rules for physician assistants in the areas of licensure, 
practice, continuing education, and discipline. Each licensee is required to complete at 
least 100 hours of continuing education approved by the board per biennium. [645 Iowa 

Administrative Code chs. 326 to 329]. 
 

Michigan: Physician Assistants in Michigan are licensed through the Michigan 
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. Part 170 of The Public Health Code Act 
368 governs the practice of physician assistants in Michigan. This section of the 

Michigan Compiled Laws includes requirements for physician assistants on licensure, 
practice, informed consent, continuing education, and delegation of care. The Michigan 

Board of Medicine is also responsible for the regulation of Physician Assistants in 
Michigan. The board may require each licensee to provide evidence of completion of at 
least 150 hours within the three years immediately preceding the application for renewal 

[Michigan Compiled Laws ss. 333.17001 to 333.17084]. 
 

Summary of factual data and analytical methodologies:   

The Board reviewed the statutory changes from 2021 Wisconsin Act 23 and promulgated 
rules as needed for the profession. While promulgating these rules, the Board referenced 

Wisconsin Administrative Code ss. Med 8, 10, 13, and 24, among other sources. 
 



   

Analysis and supporting documents used to determine effect on small business or in 

preparation of economic impact report: 

The proposed rules were posted for a period of 14 days to solicit public comment on 
economic impact, including how the proposed rules may affect businesses, local 

government units, and individuals. No comments were received. 

Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis: 

The Fiscal Estimate and Economic Impact Analysis is attached. 

 

Effect on small business: 

These proposed rules do not have an economic impact on small businesses, as defined in 
s. 227.114 (1), Stats. The Department’s Regulatory Review Coordinator may be 
contacted by email at Jennifer.Garrett@wisconsin.gov, or by calling (608) 266-6795. 

 

Agency contact person: 

Nilajah Hardin, Administrative Rules Coordinator, Department of Safety and 
Professional Services, Division of Policy Development, P.O. Box 8366, Madison, 
Wisconsin 53708-8306; telephone 608-267-7139; email at 

DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov. 
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------  

TEXT OF RULE 
 

SECTION  1 Chapters PA 1 to 4 are created to read: 

 

CHAPTER PA 1 

AUTHORITY AND DEFINITIONS 

 
PA 1.01 Authority. The rules in chapters PA 1 to 4 are adopted by the Physician 
Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board pursuant to the authority delegated by ss. 15.085 

(5) (b), 440.09 (5), 448.973 (1), and 448.975 (5) (a), Stats. 
 

PA 1.02 Definitions. As used in chapters PA 1 to 4: 
(1) “Alternate Collaborator” means a physician or physician assistant who is designated 

temporary duties of collaboration by the collaborating physician when the collaborating 

physician is temporarily unavailable. 

(2) “Board” means the Physician Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board. 

(3) “Department” means the Department of Safety and Professional Services. 

(4) “Educational Program” means a program for educating and preparing physician 

assistants which is approved by the board. 

(5) “Physician” has the meaning given in s. 448.01 (5), Stats. 

(6) “Physician Assistant” means a person licensed under s. 448.974, Stats. 

(7) “Physician Associate” is analogous to and has the same meaning as “physician 

assistant”. 

(8) “Podiatrist” has the meaning given in s. 448.60 (3), Stats. 

mailto:DSPSAdminRules@wisconsin.gov
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(9) “Podiatry” or “Podiatric Medicine and Surgery” has the meaning given in s. 448.60 

(4), Stats. 

 

 
CHAPTER PA 2 

LICENSE TO PRACTICE AS A PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT 
 

PA 2.01 Initial Licensure. Except as provided under sub. (3), the board shall grant an 

initial license to practice as a physician assistant to any applicant who has been found 
qualified by three-fourths of the members of the Board and satisfies all of the following 

requirements, as determined by the board: 
(1) The applicant shall submit all of the following: 

(a) A completed application form. 

Note: Application forms are available from the department of safety and 

professional services’ website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 
(b) The fee determined by the Department under s. 448.07 (2), Stats. 

(c) Evidence of graduation from an educational program approved under s. PA 2.02. 

(d) Evidence of having successfully passed the National Commission on 

Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) Certification Examination or an 

equivalent national examination approved by the board. 

(e) A listing of all employers, practice settings, internships, residencies, fellowships, 

and other employment for the past 7 years. 

(f) An attestation that the applicant is at least 18 years old. 

(2) Subject to ss. 111.321, 111.322, and 111.335, Stats., the applicant does not have an 

arrest or conviction record. 

(3) Subsection (1) (c) does not apply to an applicant who provides evidence that the 

applicant is a licensed physician assistant or physician associate in another state, the 

District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, or any territory or 

insular possession subject to the jurisdiction of the United States and the board 

determines that the requirements for obtaining the license in that state or territory are 

substantially equivalent to the requirements under sub. (1) (c) of this section. 

(4) The board may require an applicant to complete a personal appearance for purposes 

of an interview, or review of credentials, or both. 

(5) Notwithstanding sub. (1), an individual who, as of April 1, 2022, was licensed by the 

medical examining board as a physician assistant under subchapter II of chapter 448, 

2017 stats., shall be considered to have been licensed as a physician assistant for the 

purposes of these rules, and, upon the license’s expiration, shall renew in accordance 

with the provisions of s. PA 2.04. 

(6) If any of the documents required under this chapter are in a language other than 

English, the applicant shall also submit a verified English translation and the cost of that 

translation shall be borne by the applicant. 

http://dsps.wi.gov/


   

(7) An applicant who fails to receive a passing score on the examination required under 

subsection (1) (d) may reapply by payment of the fee specified in subsection (1) (b). An 

applicant may reapply twice at not less than 4-month intervals. If an applicant fails the 

examination 3 times, he or she may not apply for licensure unless the applicant submits 

proof of having completed further professional training or education as the board may 

prescribe. 

 

PA 2.02 Education Program Approval. The board shall only approve an education 

program for a physician assistant or physician associate that is accredited by the 
Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant or its 

successor, or, prior to 2001, by the Committee on Allied Health Education and 
Accreditation or the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs. 
If the applicant does not satisfy this requirement, the applicant may show that, prior to 

January 1, 1986, the applicant successfully passed the Physician Assistant National 
Certifying Examination administered by the National Commission on Certification of 

Physician Assistants. 

 
PA 2.03 Oral Interviews and Personal Appearances. (1) The board may require an 

applicant to complete an oral interview or personal appearance before the board, if any of 

the following circumstances apply: 

(a) The applicant has a medical condition which in any way impairs or limits the 

applicant’s ability to practice as a physician assistant with reasonable skill and 
safety. 

(b) The applicant uses chemical substances that impair in any way the applicant’s 

ability to practice as a physician assistant with reasonable skill and safety. 

(c) The applicant has been disciplined or had certification denied by a licensing or 

regulatory authority in Wisconsin or another jurisdiction. 

(d) The applicant has been convicted of a crime, the circumstances of which 

substantially relate to the practice of physician assistants. 

(e) The applicant has not practiced as a physician assistant for a period of 3 years 

prior to application, unless the applicant has graduated from an approved 

educational program in the last 3 years under PA 2.02. 

(f) The applicant has been found to have been negligent in the practice as a 

physician assistant or is currently a party in a lawsuit in which it was alleged that the 

applicant has been negligent in the practice of medicine. 

(g) The applicant has been diagnosed with any condition that may create a risk of 

harm to a patient or the public. 

(h) The applicant has within the last 2 years engaged in the illegal use of controlled 
substances. 

(i) The applicant has been subject to adverse formal action during the course of 

physician assistant education, postgraduate training, hospital practice, or other 

physician assistant employment. 



   

(2) An application filed under this chapter shall be reviewed by an application review 
panel, designated by the chairperson of the board, to determine whether an applicant is 

required to complete an oral interview or a personal appearance or both under sub. (1). 
If the application review panel is not able to reach unanimous agreement on whether an 

applicant is eligible for licensure without completing an oral interview or a personal 
appearance or both, the application shall be referred to the board for a final 
determination. 

(3) The board shall notify an applicant requiring an oral interview or appearance of the 
time and place scheduled for that applicant’s interview or appearance. 

(4) Otherwise qualified applicants with disabilities, as defined by the Americans with 
Disabilities Act, shall be provided with reasonable accommodations. 

 

PA 2.04 License Renewal and Continuing Medical Education. (1) A licensee shall 

renew their license as specified by ss. 440.03 (9) (a) and 440.08 (2) (a), Stats. 
(2) A licensee shall complete a renewal application approved by the board and 

return it with the required fee prior to the date specified by ss. 440.03 (9) (a) and 440.08 
(2) (a), Stats. 

Note: Instructions for renewal applications can be found on the department of 

safety and professional services’ website at http://dsps.wi.gov. 
(3) Except as provided under subsection (4) and specified by s. 440.08 (2) (a), Stats., 

a licensee shall attest to the completion of the following: 
(a) At least 30 hours of continuing medical education classified as Category 1 as 

defined by the NCCPA or as approved by the Board. 

(b) Of the required 30 hours of continuing medical education, at least 2 hours are on 
the topic of responsible controlled substances prescribing. 

(4) Section (3) does not apply to the first renewal following the date a license is 
issued. 
(5) Licensees shall retain certificates of continuing medical education attendance for 

a minimum of four years to be provided to the Board upon request. 
(6) Licensees may submit evidence of active certification from the NCCPA or a 

board approved successor organization and the Board shall accept such certification as 
meeting the requirements under subsection (3) (a). 

 
PA 2.05 Reinstatement. (1) A licensee who fails for any reason to be licensed as 

required under this chapter may not exercise the rights or privileges conferred by any 
license granted by the board. 

(2) Failure to renew a license as specified in s. PA 2.04. shall cause the license to lapse. 
A licensee who allows the license to lapse may apply for reinstatement of the license by 
the board, subject to 440.08 (4), Stats., as follows: 

(a) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license less than five years after its 
expiration, the license shall be renewed upon payment of the renewal fee. 

(b) If the licensee applies for renewal of the license more than five years after its 
expiration, the board shall make an inquiry to determine whether the applicant is 
competent to practice under the license in this state and shall impose any reasonable 

conditions on the renewal of the license. This paragraph does not apply to licensees 

http://dsps.wi.gov/


   

who have unmet disciplinary requirements or whose licenses have been surrendered 
or revoked. 

(3) A licensee who has unmet disciplinary requirements and failed to renew a license 
within five years of the renewal date or whose license has been surrendered or revoked 

may apply to have a license reinstated if the applicant provides all of the following: 
(a) Evidence of completion of requirements under s. PA 2.05 (2) (b) if the licensee 
has not held an active Wisconsin license in the last five years. 

(b) Evidence of completion of disciplinary requirements, if applicable. 
(c) Evidence of rehabilitation or a change in circumstances, warranting 

reinstatement of the license. 
 

PA 2.06 Reciprocal Credentials for Service Members, Former Service Members, 

and their Spouses. A reciprocal license shall be granted to a service member, former 
service member, or the spouse of a service member or former service member who the 

board determines meets all of the requirements under s. 440.09 (2), Stats. subject to s. 
440.09 (2m), Stats. The board may request verification necessary to make a 
determination under this section. 

 

PA 2.07 Title Protection. No person may designate himself or herself as a “physician 

assistant” or “physician associate” or use or assume the title “physician assistant” or 
“physician associate” or append to the person’s name the words or letters “physician 
assistant”, “physician associate” or “P.A.” or any other titles, letters, or designation 

which represents or may tend to represent that person as a physician assistant or 
physician associate unless that person is a physician assistant licensed by the board or a 

federally credentialed physician assistant or physician associate. 

 
 

CHAPTER PA 3 

PRACTICE 

 

PA 3.01 Practice Standards. (1) Except as provided in sub. (2), PA 3.02, 3.03, and 3.04, 
a physician assistant shall maintain and practice in accordance with a written 

collaborative agreement with a physician as specified in s. 448.975 (2) (a), Stats. 

(2) (a) A physician assistant may practice without a written collaborative agreement 
specified in s. 448.975 (2) (a), Stats., if the physician assistant’s practice is pursuant to an 

employment arrangement specified in s. 448.975 (2) (a) 1. a., Stats. 

(b) The requirement specified in s. 448.975 (2) (a) 1. a., Stats. is met if the physician 
assistant or his or her employer maintains and can provide to the board upon request a 

position description, policy document, organizational chart, or other document from 
the employer indicating that an administrator for the employing organization who is a 
physician has managerial responsibility for overseeing the overall direction, 

management, and clinical care delivered in the organization or clinical department in 
which the physician assistant is a clinical employee. Such document is not the 

exclusive means for a physician assistant to comply with s. 448.975 (2) (a) 1. a., 
Stats. 

  



   

(3) As provided by s. 448.975 (2) (a) 2. Stats., ss. (1) and (2) do not require the physical 
presence of a physician at the time and place a physician assistant renders a service. 

 
PA 3.02 Practice of Podiatry. A physician assistant may practice with the supervision 
and direction of a podiatrist pursuant to ss. 448.695 (4) (b) and 448.975 (1) (b) 2., Stats. 

 
PA 3.03 Emergency, Disaster, and Volunteer Practice. (1) A physician assistant 
licensed under ch. PA 2 may perform any of the following: 

(a) Render such emergency medical care that they are able to provide at the scene of 

an accident or emergency situation, not to be defined as an emergency situation that 

occurs in the place of one’s employment, in the absence of an employment or 

collaborative agreement entered into under s. PA 3.01. 

(b) Render such medical care that they are able to provide during a declared state of 

emergency or other disaster, notwithstanding an employment or collaborative 

agreement entered into under s. PA 3.01. 

(c) Provide volunteer medical care at camps or sporting events, notwithstanding an 

employment or collaborative agreement entered into under s. PA 3.01. 

(2) Pursuant to ss. 448.975 (5) (a) b 1. and 257.03 (3), Stats., a physician assistant 
who voluntarily and gratuitously renders emergency, disaster, or volunteer care pursuant 

to sub. (1) is not liable for civil damages for any personal injuries that result from acts or 
omissions which may constitute ordinary negligence. The immunity granted by this 

section shall not apply to acts or omissions constituting reckless, wanton, or intentional 
misconduct. 

 

PA 3.04 Practice During Interruption in Collaboration. If a physician assistant’s 
collaborating physician under s. PA 3.01 (2) is unable to collaborate as specified in that 

section due to an interruption in licensed practice, a leave of absence of 30 days or longer 
such that the physician is unreachable, change in employment, change in license or 
privileges, or death, then the following requirements apply: 

(1) When the interruption is temporary, and an alternate has not been identified in the 
current agreement, or is otherwise not available, a new alternate physician may provide 

temporary collaboration to the physician assistant. An interim collaborative agreement 
shall be documented within and maintained at the site of practice in accordance with s. 
PA 3.01 (2). 

(2) If the collaborating physician will be unavailable for more than 90 business days due 
to an interruption in licensure or privileges, employment, extended leave of absence or 

death, the physician assistant shall secure a new collaborating physician and document 
the agreement in accordance with s. PA s. 3.01 (2). 
(3) If no physician is available to collaborate with the physician assistant, then either of 

the following apply: 
(a) A Physician Assistant possessing at least 2,080 hours of practice experience in 

the same specialty or concentration shall notify the board within 3 business days of 
the collaborating physician’s absence and attest to active search for replacement. The 
physician assistant may continue to practice under the current terms of the physician 

assistant’s collaboration agreement without physician collaboration for up to 120 



   

business days, at which time the physician assistant may petition the board to extend 
practice under the same terms. The board shall consider the practice setting, 

experience, and qualifications of the physician assistant, and potential availability of 
collaborating physicians when reviewing requests to extend practice under this 

subsection; or 
(b) A Physician Assistant possessing less than 2,080 hours of practice experience in 
the same specialty or concentration shall enter into a written interim collaborative 

agreement with a physician assistant possessing at least 10,000 hours of practice 
experience in the same specialty or concentration; and shall notify the board within 3 

business days of the collaborating physician’s absence, provide a copy of the interim 
written collaborative agreement and, attest to active search for replacement of the 
collaborating physician. The physician assistant may continue to practice under the 

current terms of the physician assistant’s interim collaboration agreement with 
physician assistant collaboration for up to 120 business days, at which time the 

physician assistant may petition the board to extend practice under the same terms. 
The board shall consider the practice setting, experience, and qualifications of the 
physician assistant, the collaborating physician assistant and potential availability of 

collaborating physicians when reviewing requests to extend practice under this 
subsection. This interim collaborative agreement may not exceed 270 consecutive 

days. 
(4) The board may audit and review the practice of a physician assistant temporarily 
practicing without a collaborating physician under sub. (3) of this section at any time 

during or after the collaborating physician’s absence. 
 

PA 3.05 Minimum Standards for Patient Health Care Records. (1) When patient 
healthcare records are not maintained by a separate entity, a physician assistant shall 
ensure patient health care records are maintained on every patient for a period of not 

less than 5 years after the date of the last entry, or for a longer period as may be 
otherwise required by law. 

(2) A patient health care record shall contain all of the following clinical health care 
information which applies to the patient’s medical condition: 

(a) Pertinent patient history. 

(b) Pertinent objective findings related to examination and test results. 
(c) Assessment or diagnosis. 

(d) Plan of treatment for the patient. 
(3) Each patient health care record entry shall be dated, shall identify the physician 
assistant, and shall be sufficiently legible to allow interpretation by other health care 

practitioners. 

 
PA 3.06 Standards for Dispensing and Prescribing Drugs. (1) PRESCRIPTIVE 

AUTHORITY. 
(a) A physician assistant may order, prescribe, procure, dispense, and administer 
prescription drugs, medical devices, services, and supplies. 

(b) A physician assistant practicing under the supervision and direction of a 
podiatrist may issue a prescription order for a drug or device in accordance with 

guidelines established by the supervising podiatrist and the physician assistant. 



   

(2) PACKAGING. A prescription drug dispensed by a physician assistant shall be 
dispensed in a child-resistant container if it is a substance requiring special packaging 

under 16 CFR 1700.14 (1982) of the federal regulations for the federal poison packaging 
act of 1970. 

(3) LABELING. A prescription drug dispensed by a physician assistant shall contain a 
legible label affixed to the immediate container disclosing all of the following: 

(a) The name and address of the facility from which the prescribed drug is 

dispensed. 
(b) The date on which the prescription is dispensed. 

(c) The name of the physician assistant who prescribed the drug. 
(d) The full name of the patient. 
(e) The generic name and strength of the prescription drug dispensed unless the 

prescribing physician assistant requests omission of the name and strength of the 
drug dispensed. 

(f) Directions for the use of the prescribed drug and cautionary statements, if any, 
contained in the prescription or required by law. 

(4) RECORDKEEPING. (a) Unless otherwise maintained by an organization, a physician 

assistant shall maintain complete and accurate records of each prescription drug 
received, dispensed, or disposed of in any other manner. 

(b) Records for controlled substances shall be maintained as required by the federal 
controlled substances act and ch. 961, Stats. 

 

PA 3.07 Informed Consent. (1) Pursuant to s. 448.9785, Stats., a physician assistant 
shall communicate alternate modes of treatment to a patient. 

(2) Any physician assistant who treats a patient shall inform the patient about the 
availability of reasonable alternative modes of treatment and about the benefits and risks 
of these treatments. The reasonable physician assistant standard is the standard for 

informing a patient under this section. The reasonable physician assistant standard 
requires disclosure only of information that a reasonable physician assistant in the same 

or a similar medical specialty would know and disclose under the circumstances. 
(3) The physician assistant’s duty to inform the patient under this section does not 
require disclosure of any of the following: 

(a) Detailed technical information that in all probability a patient would not 
understand. 

(b) Risks apparent or known to the patient. 
(c) Extremely remote possibilities that might falsely or detrimentally alarm the 
patient. 

(d) Information in emergencies where failure to provide treatment would be more 
harmful to the patient than treatment. 

(e) Information in cases where the patient is incapable of consenting. 
(f) Information about alternate modes of treatment for any condition the physician 
assistant has not included in the physician assistant’s diagnosis at the time the 

physician assistant informs the patient. 
(4) A physician assistant’s record shall include documentation that alternate modes of 

treatment have been communicated to the patient and informed consent has been obtained 
from the patient. 



   

 

PA 3.08 Telemedicine and Telehealth Practice. (1) In this section: 

(a) “Emergency medical condition” means a medical condition manifesting itself by 
acute symptoms of sufficient severity that the absence of immediate medical 

attention will result in serious jeopardy to patient health, serious impairment of 
bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of a body organ or part. 
(b) “Telehealth” has the meaning given in s. 440.01 (1) (hm), Stats. 

(c) “Telemedicine” is analogous to and has the same meaning as “telehealth.” in par. 
(b). 

(2) The rules in this section do not prohibit any of the following: 
(a) Consultations between physician assistants, or between physician assistants and 
other medical professionals, or the transmission and review of digital images, 

pathology specimens, test results, or other medical data related to the care of patients 
in this state. 

(b) Patient care in consultations with another healthcare provider who has an 
established provider-patient relationship with the patient. 
(c) Patient care in on-call or cross-coverage situations in which the physician 

assistant has access to patient records. 
(d) Treating a patient with an emergency medical condition. 

(3) A physician assistant-patient relationship may be established via telehealth. 
(4) A physician assistant who uses telemedicine in the diagnosis and treatment of a 
patient located in this state shall be licensed to practice as a physician assistant by the 

Physician Assistant Affiliated Credentialing Board. 
(5) A licensed physician assistant shall be held to the same standards of practice and 

conduct including patient confidentiality and recordkeeping, regardless of whether 
health care services are provided in person or by telemedicine. 
(6) A licensed physician assistant who provides health care services by telehealth is 

responsible for the quality and safe use of equipment and technology that is integral to 
patient diagnosis and treatment. 

(7) The equipment and technology used by a physician assistant to provide health care 
services by telehealth shall provide, at a minimum, information that will enable the 
physician assistant to meet or exceed the standard of minimally competent physician 

assistant practice. 
 

 
CHAPTER PA 4 

UNPROFESSIONAL CONDUCT 

 
PA 4.01 Unprofessional Conduct. “Unprofessional conduct” includes the following, or 
aiding or abetting the same: 

(1) DISHONESTY AND CHARACTER. (a) Violating or attempting to violate any provision 

or term of subch. VIII of ch. 448, Stats., or of any valid rule of the board. 

(b) Violating or attempting to violate any term, provision, or condition of any order 

of the board. 



   

(c) Knowingly engaging in fraud or misrepresentation or dishonesty in applying, for 

or procuring a physician assistant license, or in connection with applying for or 

procuring periodic renewal of a physician assistant license, or in otherwise 

maintaining such licensure. 

(d) Knowingly giving false, fraudulent, or deceptive testimony while serving as an 

expert witness. 

(e) Employing illegal or unethical business practices. 

(f) Knowingly, negligently, or recklessly making any false statement, written or oral, 

as a physician assistant which creates an unacceptable risk of harm to a patient, the 

public, or both. 

(g) Engaging in any act of fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation, including acts of 

omission to the board or any person acting on the board’s behalf. 

(h) Obtaining any fee by fraud, deceit or misrepresentation. 

(i) Directly or indirectly giving or receiving any fee, commission, rebate, or other 

compensation for professional services not actually and personally rendered, unless 

allowed by law. This prohibition does not preclude the legal functioning of lawful 

professional partnerships, corporations, or associations. 

(j) Engaging in uninvited in-person solicitation of actual or potential patients who, 

because of their circumstances, may be vulnerable to undue influence. 

(k) Engaging in false, misleading, or deceptive advertising. 

(L)Offering, undertaking, or agreeing to treat or cure a disease or condition by a 

secret means, method, device, or instrumentality; or refusing to divulge to the board 

upon demand the means, method, device, or instrumentality used in the treatment of 

a disease or condition. 

(2) DIRECT PATIENT CARE VIOLATIONS. (a) Practicing or attempting to practice under 

any license when unable to do so with reasonable skill and safety. A certified copy of an 

order issued by a court of competent jurisdiction finding that a person is mentally 

incompetent is conclusive evidence that the physician assistant was, for any period 

covered by the order, unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety. 

(b) Departing from or failing to conform to the standard of minimally competent 

practice which creates an unacceptable risk of harm to a patient or the public whether 

or not the act or omission resulted in actual harm to any person. 

(c) Prescribing, ordering, dispensing, administering, supplying, selling, giving, or 

obtaining any prescription medication in any manner that is inconsistent with the 

standard of minimal competence. 

(d) Performing or attempting to perform any procedure on the wrong patient, or at 

the wrong anatomical site, or performing the wrong procedure on any patient. 

(e) Administering, dispensing, prescribing, supplying, or obtaining controlled 

substances as defined in s. 961.01 (4), Stats., other than in the course of legitimate 

professional practice, or as otherwise prohibited by law. 



   

1. Except as otherwise provided by law, a certified copy of a relevant finding, 

order, or judgement by a state or federal court or agency charged with making 

legal determinations shall be conclusive evidence of its findings of fact and 

conclusions of law. 

2. A certificate copy of a finding, order, or judgement demonstrating that entry 

of a guilty plea, nolo contendere plea or deferred adjudication, with or without 

expungement, of a crime substantially related to the practice of a physician 

assistant is conclusive evidence of a violation of this paragraph. 

(f) Engaging in sexually explicit conduct, sexual contact, exposure, gratification, or 

other sexual behavior with or in the presence of a patient, a patient’s immediate 

family, or a person responsible for the patient’s welfare. 

1. Sexual motivation may be determined from the totality of the circumstances 

and shall be presumed when the physician assistant has contact with a patient’s 

intimate parts without legitimate medical justification for doing so. 

2. For the purpose of this paragraph, an adult receiving treatment shall be 

considered a patient for 2 years after the termination of professional services. 

3. If the person receiving treatment is a child, the person shall be considered a 

patient for the purposes of this paragraph for 2 years after termination of services 

or for 2 years after the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is longer. 

(g) Engaging in any sexual conduct with or in the presence of a patient or former 

patient who lacks the ability to consent for any reason, including medication or 

psychological or cognitive disability. 

(h) Engaging in repeated or significant disruptive behavior or interaction with 

physician assistants, hospital personnel, patients, family members, or others that 

interferes with patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered. 

(i) Knowingly, recklessly, or negligently divulging a privileged communication or 

other confidential patient health care information except as required or permitted by 

state or federal law. 

(j) Performing physician assistant services without required informed consent under 

s. 448.9785, Stats. or s. PA 3.07. 

(k) Aiding or abetting the practice of an unlicensed, incompetent, or impaired person 

or allowing another person or organization to use his or her license to practice as a 

physician assistant.  

(L) Prescribing a controlled substance to oneself as described in s. 961.38 (5), Stats. 

(m) Practicing as a physician assistant in another state or jurisdiction without 

appropriate licensure. A physician assistant has not violated this paragraph if, 

after issuing an order for services that complies with the laws of Wisconsin, their 

patient requests that the services ordered be provided in another state or 

jurisdiction. 



   

(n) Patient abandonment occurs when a physician assistant without reasonable 

justification unilaterally withdraws from a physician assistant-patient relationship by 

discontinuing a patient’s treatment regimen when further treatment is medically 

indicated and any of the following occur: 

1. The physician assistant fails to give the patient at least 30 days’ notice in 

advance of the date on which the physician assistant’s withdrawal becomes 

effective. 

2. The physician assistant fails to allow for patient access to or transfer of the 

patient’s health record as required by law. 

3. The physician assistant fails to provide for continuity of prescription 

medications between the notice of intent to withdraw from the physician 

assistant-patient relationship and the date on which the physician assistant- 

patient relationship ends, if the prescription medications are necessary to avoid 

unacceptable risk of harm. 

4. The physician assistant fails to provide for continuity of care during the period 

between the notice of intent to withdraw from the physician assistant-patient 

relationship and the date on which the physician assistant-patient relationship 

ends. Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to imposed upon the physician 

assistant a greater duty to provide continuity care to a patient than otherwise 

required by law. 

(3) LAW VIOLATIONS, ADVERSE ACTION, AND REQUIRED REPORTS TO THE BOARD. 

(a) Failing, within 30 days to report to the board any final adverse action taken 

against the licensee’s authority to practice by another licensing jurisdiction. 

(b) Failing, within 30 days, to report the board any adverse action taken by the Drug 

Enforcement Administration against the licensee’s authority to prescribe controlled 

substances. 

(c) Failing to comply with state and federal laws regarding access to patient health 

care records. 

(d) Failure by a licensee to establish and maintain patient health care records 

consistent with the requirements of ss. PA 3.05 and 3.06 (4), or as otherwise 

required by law. 

(e) Violating the duty to report under s. 448.9795, Stats. 

(f) After a request by the board, failing to cooperate in a timely manner with the 

board’s investigation of a complaint filed against a licensee. There is a rebuttable 

presumption that a licensee who takes longer than 30 days to respond to a request of 

the board has not acted within a timely manner. 

(g) Failing, within 48 hours of the entry of judgement of conviction of any crime, to 

provide notice to the department of safety and professional services required under 

s. SPS 4.09 (2), or failing within 30 days of conviction of any crime, to provide the 

board with certified copies of the criminal complaint and judgement of conviction. 



   

(h) Except as provided under par. (i), a violation or conviction of any laws or rules 

of this state, or of any other state, or any federal law or regulation that is 

substantially related to the practice of a physician assistant. 

1. Except as otherwise provided by law, a certified copy of a relevant decision 

by a state or federal court or agency charged with determining whether a person 

has violated a law or rule relevant to this paragraph is conclusive evidence of 

findings of facts and conclusions of law therein. 

2. The department of safety and professional services has the burden of 

proving that the circumstances of the crime are substantially related to the 

practice of a physician assistant. 

(i) Violating or being convicted of any the conduct listed under in Table PA 4.01, 

any successor statute criminalizing the same conduct, or if in another jurisdiction, 

any act which, if committed in Wisconsin would constitute a violation of any statute 

listed in Table PA 4.01: 

 

Table PA 4.01 

Violations or Convictions Cited by Statute 

 

 

PA 4.02 Discipline. (1) The board may conduct investigations and hearings to determine 

whether a licensee has violated s. PA 4.01 or has violated any state or federal law or any 
other jurisdiction that substantially relates to the practice of a physician assistant. 

Statute Section Description of Violation or Conviction 

940.01 First degree intentional homicide 

940.02 First degree reckless homicide 
940.03 Felony murder 
940.05 Second degree intentional homicide 

940.12 Assisting suicide 
940.19 (2), (4), (5), or (6) Battery, substantial battery, or aggravated battery 
940.22 (2) or 3 Sexual exploitation by therapist, duty to report 
940.225 (1), (2), or (3) First, second, or third degree sexual assault 

940.285 (2) Abuse of individuals at risk 

940.29 Abuse of residents at penal facilities 

940.295 Abuse and neglect of patients and residents 

948.02 (1) or (2) First and second degree sexual assault of a child 

948.03 (2) Physical abuse of a child, intentional causation of bodily harm 

948.05 Sexual exploitation of a child 

948.051 Trafficking of a child 

948.055 Causing a child to view or listen to sexual activity 

948.06 Incest with a child 

948.07 Child enticement 

948.08 Soliciting a child for prostitution 

948.085 Sexual assault of a child placed in substitute care 



   

(2) The board may reprimand a physician assistant or deny, limit, suspend, or 
revoke a physician assistant’s license if the physician assistant has violated s. PA 4.01. 

 
SECTION  2 EFFECTIVE DATE.  The rules adopted in this order shall take effect on the 

first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative Register, 
pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 

 (END OF TEXT OF RULE) 
 
 


