

2021 Senate Joint Resolution 88

ENROLLED JOINT RESOLUTION

Relating to: commending the UW-Madison volleyball team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship title.

Whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team won the 2021 NCAA Division I National Championship title for the first time by defeating the Nebraska Cornhuskers in an epic five-set match; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team demonstrated exceptional athletic performances and displayed outstanding mental toughness and grit throughout the season; and

Whereas, National Player of the Year and five-time First Team All American, Dana Rettke scored the game winning point to give UW-Madison the title; and

Whereas, freshman Anna Smrek won Most Outstanding Player of the tournament; and

Whereas, Sydney Hilley, Dana Rettke, and Anna Smrek made the All-Tournament team; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison volleyball team had a remarkable season with a 31-3 record for the season; and

Whereas, the team was led by seniors Lauren Barnes, Sydney Hilley, Giorgia Civita, Dana Rettke, and Grace Loberg, who were joined by teammates Danielle Hart, Julia Orzol, Jade Demps, Lauren Jardine, Devyn Robinson, Izzy Ashburn, Julia Wohlert, Anna Smrek, Liz Gregorski, Joslyn Boyer, MJ Hammill, Sydney Reed, and Anna MacDonald; and

Whereas, the team was managed by a brilliant coaching staff, led by Head Coach Kelly Sheffield, Assistant Coach of the Year Brittany Dildine, Assistant Coach Gary White, Director of Volleyball Operations Jessica Williams, Technical Coordinator Annemarie Hickey, Volunteer Assistant Coach Mackenzie Long, Athletic Trainer Kristen Walker, Strength and Conditioning Coach Kevin Schultz, Video Producer and Brand Manager Bianca Miceli, and Associate Director of Brand Communications Diane Nordstrom; and

Whereas, the UW-Madison community and the whole state take pride in the integrity, leadership, and excellence the team has demonstrated in its accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin State Legislature do hereby commend the UW–Madison volleyball team, the coaching staff, the athletic department, and the chancellor on winning the 2021 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball National Championship title and wish the student–athletes continued success in their bright futures.

Representative Robin J. Vos Speaker of the Assembly	Senator Chris Kapenga President of the Senate
Date	Michael J. Queensland Senate Chief Clerk