

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 398

Proclamation of a State of Emergency

WHEREAS, severe storms with high-winds, hail, and intense rain occurred in Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Rock, Sauk and Vennon Counties starting on May 26, 2000 and extending for numerous days thereafter; and

WHEREAS, these intense storms caused extensive damage to individual homes, businesses and to public infrastructure in Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Rock, Sauk and Vernon Counties amounting to a natural disaster;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, TOMMY G. THOMPSON, Governor of the State of Wisconsin, by virtue of the authority vested in me by the Constitution and laws of the State of Wisconsin, and specifically by Sections 166.03(1)(b) 1 and 21.11(1) of the Wisconsin Statutes, do hereby:

- 1. Proclaim that a State of Emergency exists in Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Rock, Sauk and Vernon Counties; and
- Direct all agencies of the State of Wisconsin to assist Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Grant, Green, Iowa, Juneau, La Crosse, Lafayette, Monroe, Richland, Rock, Sauk and Vernon Counties in recovering from this natural disaster.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the Great Seal of the State of Wisconsin to be affixed. Done at the Capitol in the City of Madison this third day of June in the year two thousand.

Governor

By the Governor:

DOUGLAS LA FOLLETTE

Secretary of State