

WISCONSIN LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ACT MEMO

2017 Wisconsin Act 304 [2017 Assembly Bill 837]

Funeral Directors and Apprenticeships

2017 Wisconsin Act 304 makes various changes to the regulation of funeral directors and funeral director apprentices.

COLLEGE COURSEWORK

Funeral Director Apprentices

Under prior law, an applicant for a funeral director apprenticeship had to have completed one academic year of instruction at a recognized college or university in a course of study approved by the Funeral Directors Examining Board (Board), or equivalent education. The Act replaces this requirement and states that a funeral director apprentice must have completed a 16-hour certification course approved by the Board, rather than one year of approved coursework.

Funeral Directors

Prior law required that an applicant for a funeral director's license had to have completed nine months of instruction in mortuary science, taken **after** the person completed one year of college work or equivalent education. Under the Act, an applicant for a funeral director's license must complete the required nine months of instruction in mortuary science after completing the 16-hour certification course, rather than after completing one year of college work or equivalent education.

NUMBER OF APPRENTICES PER FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT

Under prior law, a funeral home that had less than 150 funeral services or prepared less than 150 bodies for burial or shipment during the preceding year was allowed only one funeral

This memo provides a brief description of the Act. For more detailed information, consult the text of the law and related legislative documents at the Legislature's Web site at: http://www.legis.wisconsin.gov.

director apprentice. The Board could allow other funeral homes to have a second funeral director apprentice if the funeral home had at least two full-time licensed funeral directors.

Under the Act, the Board may recognize two funeral director apprentices for each funeral establishment, and may also recognize additional funeral director apprentices as long as the funeral home employs at least one full-time licensed funeral director per funeral director apprentice.

SUPERVISION OF APPRENTICES

Prior law provided that a funeral director apprentice could work only under the personal supervision of a licensed funeral director. The Act retains this requirement and adds that supervision, when the apprentice is in the preparation room, requires that the apprentice is within the funeral director's line of sight.

TERM OF APPRENTICESHIP

An apprenticeship terminates after a period of not more than four years from the time of first registration, unless it is extended. Under prior law, an apprenticeship could be extended only for one additional year. The Act allows the Board to continue an apprenticeship for another four-year term after the registration or extension expires, if the apprentice completes the 16-hour certification course approved by the Board.

Effective date: November 1, 2018

Prepared by: Andrea Brauer, Staff Attorney April 27, 2018

AB:mcm;jal