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CHAPTER 125.

WATCHMAKING.
125.01 Definitions. : 126.07 Apprentice watchmakers,
125.02 Certificate required. ’ 126.08 Revocation, ’
125.03 Board of examiners, 125.09 Penalty. ; ‘
125.04 . Application.’ : 125,15 Sale of secondhand watches regu-
125.05. Examination, lated. .

125.06 Registration.

195.01 Definitions, (1) The term “watechmaking,” for the purposes of sections
125,01 to 125.09, includes and means the repairing, replacing, rebuilding, reconditioning,
cleaning, adjusting or regulating of the mechanical parts of watches and the maniifac-
turing and fitting of parts designed for use or used in watches. Such term shall not
include or mean the manufacturing or repairing of watchecases, -but shall include ‘the
repairing of all winding mechanisms whether they are parts of such eases or not.~ "'

(2) The term “board” as used in such sections shall mean the “Wisconsin board of
examiners in watchmaking.” ‘ ‘ R

125,02 COertificate required. No person shall engage in watechmaking for 'pioﬁt or
compensation of any kind, without first obtaining a certificate of registration, as herein-
after provided, which certificate shall at all times be conspicuously displayed in his place
of business.

125.03 Board of examiners. (1) There is created a “Wisconsin board of examiners
in watechmaking” whose duties it shall be to carry out the provisions of ss. 125.01 to 125.09
and to promote the education and training of watechmakers. The board shall consist of 5
members, appointed by the governor. All persons so appointed shall have been residents
of this state and actually engaged in watchmaking, as defined in s. 125.01, for at least 5
years immediately preceding the time of their appointment. Each member of the board
ghall hold office for 5 years and until his successor shall be appointed and qualifies. Each
member of the board, before entering upon his duties, shall take and file the official oath.
The board shall have a common seal.

(2) The hoard shall choose annually one of its members as president and one as sec-
retary, who shall severally have power to administer oaths and take affidavits, certifying
thereto under the seal of the board. The board shall meet at least once every 6 months
whenever and wherever the officers call a meeting. A majority of the members of the
board shall constitute a quorum. The board may retain legal counsel if it deems it nee-
essary. The secretary shall give such bond as the hoard determines to be proper. The
seeretary shall keep a full record of its proceedings, which shall be open to inspection
at all reasonable times. The members and officers of the hoard shall be compensated as
follows: Each member of the board shall be paid a per diem of $15 for time aetually
spent in the performance of his duties and for necessary expenses; the secretary, in
addition to sneh expenses, may be paid an annual salary to be determined by the board.

(8) The hoard may appoint such clerks and assistants as it may deem necessary to
the execution of its funections and fix their salavies,

(4) The board shall, on the first day of Jannary of each year, report its proceedings
to the governor, including an account of moneys received and disbursed. The secretary
shall upon request of the governor, supply a verified list of watchmakers qualified to
gerve as members of the board.

125.04 Application, Applicants for certificates shall be examined at a time and
place fixed by the board. Applications for examinations shall be filed with the board at
least 10 days before the date set for the examination and shall be accompanied hy an
examination fee of $20. The applicant shall be of good moral character, at least 20 years
of age and possess such training and experience as the board shall by rule determine to be

required.
125.05 Examination. An applicant, to be entitled to a certificate, shall pass an
examination before the board, which examination shall be confined to such knowledge,

practical ability and skill as is essential in the proper repairing of watches, and shall
include an examination of theoretical knowledge of wateh construction and repair, and
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also a practical demonstration of the applicant’s skill in the manipulation of wateh-
maker’s tools. The board shall make rules and regulations for condueting examinations
and shall define the standards. of workmanship and skill. In case of failure at any ex-
amination, the applicant shall have the privilege of taking another examination at any
other examination period upon the payment of a fee of $10.

125.06 Registration. (1) If the applicant successfully passes the examination, the
secretary of the board shall register such fact and shall issue to him a certificate of reg-
istration.

(2) A watchmaker in good standing, registered and licensed in another state and
having engaged in watchmaking therein for 2 years immediately preceding his applica-
tion for a certificate, upon filing with the bhoard satisfactory proof thereof, may, in the
discretion of the board, be issued a certificate without examination upon the payment of
a fee of $25, p10v1ded the standards in such other state are at least as high as those
defined and established by the board.

(3) Persons dctually engaged in watchmaking within this state prior to April 29, 1937
shall be exempt from taking the examination herein provided upon making application
for a certificate before June 30; 1939, accompanied by an application fee of $5 and his
affidavit setting forth the fact of havmg g0 actually engaged in watchmaking, which
affidavit shall be attested to by two freeholders in this state, and if the hoard shall be
satisfied that such applicant is entitled thereto it shall cause its secretary to so register
and issue a certificate of registration.

(4) Certificates of registration shall expire on December 31 of each year and may he
renewed for one year upon the payment of a fee of $6. Applications may he made for
renewal after December 15 of each year.

125.07 Apprentice watchmakers. Any person sixteen years of age or over, of good
moral character, indentured to a registered watchmaker in accordance with section
106.01, may engage in watchmaking subject to the provisions of seetions 125.01 to 125.09
upon obtaining from the board a certificate of registration as an apprentice watchmaker,
which certificate shall be conspicuously displayed at all times at the place of employ-
ment of such apprentice, Apprentice watchmakers shall pay a fee of one dollar f01 the
certlﬁeate and shall pay a renewal fee of one dollar annually.

125 08 Revocation, (1) The board may revoke a certificate of registration upon
the failure of the holder thereof to pay the annual renewal fee, npon giving said holder 30
days’ notice in writing of such proposed revocation, Notice shall be sufficient when sent
by registered mail to the last known address of the holder.

(2) The board may revoke a certificate of registration obtained through error of the
board or fraud on the part of the applicant, or if the holder is grossly incompetent,
guilty of immoral or unethical conduct, or obtained or sought to obtain anything of
value by fraudulent representations in the practice of watchmaking, The holder of such
certificate shall be given 30 days’ notice in writing enumerating the charges and specifying
a date for the hearing on such charges. At the hearing he shall have the opportunity
to econfront witnesses against him and to produce evidence bearing on such charges. A
stenographic record of all proceedings shall be made and transcript kept on file with
the board. The revocation shall be subject to review in the manner provided in chapter
227.

(3) One whose certificate has been revoked, may, upon the expiration of one year
after such revocation, apply to the board for 1eglst1at10n and upon satlsfaetory prootf
that the canse of revoeation no longer exists, the board may, in its discretion, issue to
said person a certificate of registration upon payment of the fees herein provided.

(4) The hoard shall by rule define the specific infractions which because they are
likely to mislead, deceive or defraud the public and violate professional standards shall be
considered unethleal conduet.

125,09 Penalty. Anyone not having a certificate of registration, who shall hold
himself .out as a watchmaker or as qualified to do watechmaking, or anyone who shall
violate any of the provisions of sections 125.01 to 125.09, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor
and shall be punished by a fine of not less than twenty dollars nor more than one
hundred dollars or by imprisonment in the county jail not less than one month nor
more than three months, or by both such fine and mmprisonment.

125,15 Sale of secondhand watches regulated. (1) Derinirions. As used in this

section:
(a) “Person” means a person, firm, partnership, association or corporation, but shall
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not include a referee in bankruptcy, the executor or admlmstrator of an estate, or any
other officer of a court.
(b) “Consumer” means an individual, firm, paltnershlp, assomatlon or corporatlon
who buys for their own use, or for the use "of another but not for 1esale. :
(¢) “Secondhand” watch means: ‘ e :
1. A wateh, which as a whole, the case thereof, or the movement thereof has plevmusly
been sold to a consumer. .
2. Any watch whose case or movement serial numbers or other dlstmg'ulshmg num-
bels or identification marks have been elased defaced, removed, altered or covered,

(2) Tacs REQUIRED, Any person, or agent or employe ther eof, who sells a secondhand
watch shall affix and keep affixed to the same a tag with the w01ds “secondhand” legibly
written or printed thereon in the English language. Ifor the purposes of this subsectlon,
“sell” includes an offer to sell or exehange, expose for sale or exchange, possess Wlth in-
tent to sell or exchange, and sell or exchange.

(3) .INVOICE REQUIRED, .Any person, or agent or employe theleof who sells a second-
hand watch shall deliver to the vendee a written invoice setting f01th ‘thie name and’ ad-
dress of 'the vendm, the name and address of the vendee, the date of the sale, the name
of the watch or its malker, and the serial numbers (if any) or other distinguishing num-
bers, or identification marks on its case and movement. In the event the serial numbers
o other distinguishing numbers or identification mzuks have been erased, defaced Te-
moved, altered or eovered, such facts shall be stated in the invoice. A dupheate of such
invoiee shall be kept on ﬁle by the vendor of such secondhand watch f£or at least one year
from the date of the sale thereof and shall be open to inspection during all business hours
by the district attorney, or his representative; of the county in whieh the vendor is én-
gaged in business, or by the chief of police, or his representative, of the ¢ity in which'siich
person is engaged in business. If the vendor does not mainfain an established place of
business within this state, he shall within 2 days after every such sale, file such duphcate
copies in the office of the county clerk of the eounty in which such sale was made. , . ;.

(4) REQUIREMENTS IN ADVERTISEMENTS, Any person. adveltlsmg in any manner
secondhand watehes for sale shall state cleally in such adve1t1s1ng that the.watehes: so
advertised are secondhand watches. : ,

(6) PeExanry. Any person who violates any p10v1smn rof tlns sectlon is. gmlty of a
misdemeanor and upon convietion thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than
$20 hor more than $500, or by imprisonment in the county jail not mo1e than 100 days,
or by both such fine and imprisonment, ,
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