2011 Senate Joint Resolution 52
Relating to: commemorating the achievements and contributions of Western Technical College on the occasion of its centennial.
Whereas, Western Technical College was founded in 1912 as the La Crosse Continuation and Adult Schools with an original student body of 806; and
Whereas, Western Technical College was established to provide vocational, technical, and adult education to meet the needs of advancing industry in western Wisconsin; and
Whereas, today, Western Technical College enrolls over 18,000 students annually and continues to respond to the needs of businesses and communities with more than 60 programs offered in areas such as health and public safety, business, general studies, and industrial technologies; and
Whereas, Western Technical College has managed to withstand significant challenges, including maintaining classes throughout the Great Depression and meeting the demands of local, state, and national production industries during World War II; and
Whereas, Western Technical College provides access to quality, affordable education at seven locations in western Wisconsin; and
Whereas, in its 100th year, Western Technical College continues to serve as a leader for higher learning while building upon its educational philosophy and mission to provide relevant, high-quality education in a collaborative and sustainable environment; and
Whereas, since its formation, Western Technical College's district board has upheld the mission while responding to the local needs of communities they represent; and
Whereas, during the 2011-2012 academic year, friends, family, and alumni will join with Western Technical College students, faculty, and staff to participate in centennial celebrations and events to honor the college's 100 years of rich history; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature hereby commend Western Technical College for its 100 years of academic excellence, achievements, and contributions to the state of Wisconsin.