2013 - 2014 LEGISLATURE
February 11, 2014 - Introduced by Representatives Johnson, Barnes, Goyke,
Kessler, Pasch, Rodriguez, Young and Zamarripa, cosponsored by Senators
Harris and L. Taylor. Referred to Committee on Rules.
AJR95,1,1 1Relating to: recognizing Black History Month.
AJR95,1,52 Whereas, Americans have recognized black history annually since 1926, first
3as "Negro History Week" and later as "Black History Month," and the Wisconsin
4legislature has commemorated February as Black History Month to honor the lives
5and contributions of Wisconsin African American residents; and
AJR95,1,8   6Whereas, we are commemorating the 50th anniversary of the 1964 Civil Rights
7Act, which drew from many African Americans taking a positive stance on breaking
8down the barriers to racial equality; and
AJR95,1,11   9Whereas, Clayborn Benson, a native of Milwaukee who faced challenges as an
10impoverished youth, graduated from the old West Division High School despite being
11labeled "learning disabled"; and
AJR95,1,14   12Whereas, Clayborn Benson is the founder and executive director of the Black
13Historical Society and Museum, which documents and preserves the historical
14heritage of people of African descent in Wisconsin; and
  1Whereas, the Black Historical Society Museum exhibits, collects, and
2disseminates materials depicting African heritage, while serving as a resource
3center for all people interested in African American heritage and as a promoter of
4family, community, and cultural activities; and
AJR95,2,7   5Whereas, James Hightower III, on June 15, 2013, at the age of 12, became the
6youngest African American in American history to earn the honor of Eagle Scout,
7scouting's highest honor; and
AJR95,2,118 Whereas, James Hightower III, for his Eagle Scout service project, rebuilt six
9bleachers at the three baseball fields of Kletzsch Park, leading recruitment and
10fundraising efforts for this massive undertaking that enriched the Glendale and
11Milwaukee communities; and
AJR95,2,1512 Whereas, James Hightower III is an inspiration for children and adults in
13Milwaukee and in the entire state of Wisconsin for his commitment to setting and
14achieving ambitious goals and working tirelessly to invest in and give back to his
15community and the world around him; and
AJR95,2,2116 Whereas, many African Americans have served in the legislature, including
17former senators Spencer Coggs, Gary George, Gwendolynne Moore, and Monroe
18Swan and former representatives Lloyd Barbee, Cecil B. Brown Jr., Elizabeth Coggs,
19Marcia P. Coggs, Isaac Coggs, Jason Fields, Tamara Grigsby, Raymond Lee Lathan,
20Johnnie Morris-Tatum, Lucien Palmer, Antonio Riley, Le Roy Simmons, Walton
21Bryan Stewart, Barbara Toles, and Robert Turner; now, therefore, be it
AJR95,3,2 22Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the Wisconsin
23legislature recognizes February 2014 as Black History Month and extends thanks
24and praise to Clayborn Benson, James Hightower III, and the many African

1Americans who have served in the legislature for their contributions to the state of
AJR95,3,33 (End)