2015 Assembly Joint Resolution 10
Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater football team for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Football National Championship title.
Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Warhawks football team achieved its second consecutive perfect season in 2014, winning all 15 of its games, extending its current winning streak to 32 games, and defeating Mount Union 43-34 in the Stagg Bowl to earn the NCAA Division III Football National Championship title; and
Whereas, this is the sixth time in eight years that the football team has won the NCAA Division III title and the ninth time in ten years that the team has won the Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference title; and
Whereas, the team has been led by a dedicated and talented coaching staff, led by American Football Coaches Association Division III National Coach of the Year Lance Leipold and Defensive Coach Kevin Bullis, who has since taken over the position of Head Coach after the recent departure of Coach Leipold; and
Whereas, the team has also benefited from many experienced student athletes, including senior quarterback Matt Behrendt, who was named WIAC Offensive Player of the Year and Stagg Bowl XLII Most Valuable Player, senior wide receiver Jake Kumerow, who was selected as D3football.com National Offensive Player of the Year, and senior defensive back Brady Grayvold, who earned first team All-America accolades from three different organizations; and
Whereas, the team has brought honor and positive attention to the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater and pride to its community and state as a whole; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the assembly, the senate concurring, That the members of the Wisconsin legislature commend the Warhawks, their coaching staff, and their student athletes on winning the 2014 National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III Football National Championship title and wish them great success in all future endeavors