2017 - 2018 LEGISLATURE
January 17, 2018 - Introduced by Senators Darling, Fitzgerald, Bewley,
Carpenter, Erpenbach, Hansen, Johnson, Marklein, Miller, Moulton,
Nass, Olsen, Petrowski, Ringhand, Risser, Stroebel, L. Taylor, Vinehout,
Vukmir, Wanggaard, Wirch and Shilling, cosponsored by Representatives
Murphy, Allen, Anderson, Ballweg, Berceau, Brandtjen, Crowley, E.
, Edming, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hutton, Jacque, Kerkman,
Kleefisch, Knodl, Kooyenga, Krug, Loudenbeck, Meyers, Mursau, Nygren,
Ohnstad, Petryk, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland,
Sinicki, Skowronski, Snyder, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Subeck,
Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Tittl, Tranel, Vorpagel, Vruwink,
Zamarripa, Zepnick, Duchow and Thiesfeldt. Referred to Committee on
Senate Organization.
SJR90,1,2 1Relating to: congratulating the 2017 Wisconsin Badgers football team on the
2impressive accomplishments for this season.
SJR90,1,53 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badgers football team
4completed an undefeated regular season, finishing with 12 wins and no losses, and
5earned a bid to the Orange Bowl on December 30, 2017; and
SJR90,1,86 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badgers became Orange Bowl
7champions against the Miami Hurricanes with a score of 34 to 24, winning their
8fourth consecutive bowl game; and
SJR90,1,119 Whereas, the 2017 Badgers football team is the winningest in University of
10Wisconsin-Madison history, being the first to finish the regular football season 12-0,
11and the first ever to win 13 games in a single season; and
SJR90,1,1512 Whereas, the Wall Street Journal's annual ranking of top football programs
13earlier this year singled out the University of Wisconsin-Madison as the number one
14most admirable football program in the country for overall performance, both on the
15field of play and as an academic institution; and
1Whereas, the Badgers earned their second consecutive Big Ten West Division
2title and 21 players earned All-Big Ten honors including Jonathan Taylor, Beau
3Benzschawel, Michael Deiter, Troy Fumagalli, T.J. Edwards, D'Cota Dixon, and Nick
4Nelson receiving First Team Honors; David Edwards, Alec James, Conor Sheehy,
5Garret Dooley, and Rafael Gaglianone receiving Second Team Honors; Tyler Biadasz
6and Derrick Tindal receiving Third Team Honors; and Quintez Cephus, Alex
7Hornibrook, Ryan Connelly, Joe Ferguson, Leon Jacobs, Natrell Jamerson, and Olive
8Sagapolu receiving Honorable Mention Honors; and
SJR90,2,129 Whereas, Joe Ferguson won the Big Ten Sportsmanship Honor for
10demonstrating a commitment to the community and D'Cota Dixon won the 2017
11Orange Bowl FWAA Courage Award for overcoming adversity on and off the field;
SJR90,2,1513 Whereas, Head Coach Paul Chryst earned Big Ten Coach of the Year and
14Defensive Coordinator Jim Leonhard was a finalist for the Broyles Award for the best
15assistant coach in the country; and
SJR90,2,1716 Whereas, David Edwards and Beau Benzschawel were named Third Team
17All-American by the Associated Press; and
SJR90,2,2018 Whereas, T.J. Edwards was named First Team All-American by the Associated
19Press and was named a finalist for the Butkus Award for the best linebacker in the
20country; and
SJR90,2,2321 Whereas, Troy Fumagalli was named the 2017 Big Ten Kwalick-Clark Tight
22End of the Year, Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, and a finalist
23for the John Mackey Award for best tight end in the country; and
SJR90,3,224 Whereas, Jonathan Taylor was named the 2017 Big Ten Thompson-Randle El
25Freshman of the Year, Second Team All-American by the Associated Press, was a

1finalist for the Doak Walker Award for the best running back in the country, and set
2the NCAA freshman rushing record; and
SJR90,3,43 Whereas, the senior class finished their collegiate career with 45 wins, making
4them the winningest class in school history; and
SJR90,3,85 Whereas, the Badgers' 13-member senior class included Jack Cichy, Garret
6Dooley, Joe Ferguson, Lubern Figaro, Troy Fumagalli, Rachid Ibrahim, Leon Jacobs,
7Natrell Jamerson, Alec James, Chikwe Obasih, Austin Ramesh, Conor Sheehy and
8Derrick Tindal; and
SJR90,3,12   9Whereas, University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank,
10Athletic Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst have displayed
11extraordinary leadership in their commitment to student-athletes in both academic
12and athletic excellence; and now, therefore, be it
SJR90,3,15 13Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That the Wisconsin
14Legislature hereby commends and congratulates the entire 2017 Wisconsin Badgers
15football team on the impressive accomplishments for this season; and, be it further
SJR90,3,18 16Resolved, That the senate chief clerk shall provide copies of this joint
17resolution to University of Wisconsin-Madison Chancellor Rebecca Blank, Athletic
18Director Barry Alvarez, and Head Coach Paul Chryst.
SJR90,3,1919 (End)