Date of enactment: April 3, 1996
1995 Assembly Bill 43 Date of publication*: April 17, 1996
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 1993-94: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
1995 WISCONSIN ACT 181
An Act to amend 174.02 (2) (a) and (b) of the statutes; relating to: injury caused by a dog and providing a penalty.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
181,1 Section 1. 174.02 (2) (a) and (b) of the statutes are amended to read:
174.02 (2) (a) Without notice. The owner of a dog shall forfeit not less than $50 nor more than $100 $500 if the dog injures or causes injury to a person, domestic animal, property, deer, game birds or the nests or eggs of game birds.
(b) After notice. The owner of a dog shall forfeit not less than $100 $200 nor more than $500 $1,000 if the dog injures or causes injury to a person, domestic animal, property, deer, game birds or the nests or eggs of game birds, if the owner was notified or knew that the dog previously injured or caused injury to a person, domestic animal, property, deer, game birds or the nests or eggs of game birds.
181,2 Section 2. Initial applicability.
(1)   This act first applies to injury caused by a dog on the effective date of this subsection.
Loading...
Loading...