Date of enactment: May 12, 2000
1999 Assembly Bill 394 Date of publication*: May 26, 2000
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 1997-98: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
An Act to amend 115.76 (3) and 115.762 (4) of the statutes; relating to: the eligible ages for special education.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
161,1 Section 1. 115.76 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
115.76 (3) "Child" means any person who is at least 3 years old but not yet 22 21 years old and who has not graduated from high school and, for the duration of a school term, any person who becomes 21 years old during that school term and who has not graduated from high school.
161,2 Section 2. 115.762 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
115.762 (4) Limitation. Nothing in this subchapter requires that special education and related services be provided to a child with a disability who is at least 18 years old but not yet 22 years old and who, in the child's educational placement before his or her incarceration in a state prison, was not identified as a child with a disability or for whom an individualized education program was not developed.
161,3 Section 3. Initial applicability.
(1) This act first applies to pupils who become 21 years old on July 1 following the effective date of this subsection.