Thursday, March 8, 2001
9:10 A.M.
Ninety-Fifth Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Jensen in the chair.
The prayer was offered by Pastor Kurt Billings of Trinity Lutheran Church in Madison.
Representative M. Lehman led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Balow, Berceau, Bies, Black, Bock, Boyle, Carpenter, Coggs, Colon, Cullen, Duff, J. Fitzgerald, Foti, Freese, Friske, Gard, Gronemus, Grothman, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hahn, Hebl, Hoven, Huber, Hubler, Huebsch, Hundertmark, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Kaufert, Kedzie, Kestell, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Kreuser, Krug, Krusick, La Fave, Ladwig, Lassa, J. Lehman, M. Lehman, Leibham, Lippert, Loeffelholz, McCormick, D. Meyer, Meyerhofer, Miller, Montgomery, Morris-Tatum, Musser, Nass, Olsen, Ott, Petrowski, Pettis, Plale, Plouff, Pocan, Powers, Reynolds, Rhoades, Richards, Riley, Ryba, Schneider, Schooff, Seratti, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Skindrud, Starzyk, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Stone, Suder, Sykora, Townsend, Travis, Turner, Underheim, Urban, Vrakas, Wade, Walker, Ward, Wasserman, Wieckert, Williams, Wood, Young, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Jensen - 97.
Absent with leave - Representatives F. Lasee and Owens - 2.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Vrakas asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives F. Lasee and Owens. Granted.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 96 offered by Representatives Sinicki, Rhoades, La Fave and Plale.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 44
Relating to: calling upon the U.S. Congress to investigate the attack on the U.S.S. Liberty.
By Representative Schneider ; cosponsored by Senator Schultz .
To committee on Veterans and Military Affairs .
Assembly Joint Resolution 45
Relating to: proclaiming the month of May as "Community Action Month" in the state of Wisconsin.
By Representatives Olsen, Krug, Wade, Ladwig, Shilling, Krawczyk, Turner, Miller, Coggs, Sherman, Albers, Gronemus, Loeffelholz, Ryba, Bock, Lippert, Reynolds, Owens, Townsend, Vrakas, Friske, Gunderson, Underheim, Plouff, Freese, Ott, J. Lehman, Berceau, Riley, Sykora, Musser, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Rhoades, Huber, Lassa and Kreuser; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Burke, Schultz, Shibilski, Darling, A. Lasee, Chvala, Moen, Rosenzweig, Erpenbach, Risser, Hansen, Decker and Baumgart.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Joint Resolution 46
Relating to: urging all Wisconsinites to observe March as "Women's History Month."
By Representative Berceau ; cosponsored by Senator Burke .
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 178
Relating to: computer crimes and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Schneider and Ryba; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Schultz.
To committee on Criminal Justice .
Assembly Bill 179
Relating to: changing a child's name in a paternity action.
A132 By Representatives Schneider and Ryba, by request of Chris Kietrys.
To committee on Family Law.
Assembly Bill 180
Relating to: extending the State Employment Labor Relations Act to certain legislative employees.
By Representative Schneider ; cosponsored by Senator Wirch .
To committee on Labor and Workforce Development .
Assembly Bill 181
Relating to: collective bargaining rights for limited term employees under the State Employment Labor Relations Act.
By Representative Schneider .
To committee on Labor and Workforce Development .
Assembly Bill 182
Relating to: eliminating emergency detention under the fifth standard of dangerousness, eliminating termination of involuntary civil commitments under the fifth standard of dangerousness, permitting only petitions approved by the attorney general to be filed for involuntary civil commitment under the fifth standard of dangerousness, and providing access by the corporation counsel to court records and treatment records of persons receiving services for mental illness, developmental disabilities, alcoholism or drug dependence.
By Representatives Rhoades, Bock, Kestell, Krug, Krawczyk, Lippert, Huebsch, Vrakas, Wade, Hundertmark, Musser, Gunderson, La Fave, Powers, Ott, Stone, Owens, Ladwig, Huber, Ainsworth, Plouff, Miller, Olsen, Turner, Urban, J. Lehman, Riley and Wasserman; cosponsored by Senators Grobschmidt, Rosenzweig, Darling, Burke, Harsdorf, Roessler, M. Meyer, Huelsman and Schultz.
To committee on Health.
Assembly Bill 183
Relating to: an income and franchise tax credit for a business to construct, equip, operate, or provide a day care center for the children of employees.
By Representatives Hoven, Plale, Ainsworth, Albers, Balow, Boyle, Bock, Berceau, Gronemus, Huebsch, Jeskewitz, Gunderson, Kreibich, Kaufert, Johnsrud, Ladwig, F. Lasee, Leibham, Lippert, Musser, McCormick, Miller, Olsen, Owens, Ott, Plouff, Petrowski, Rhoades, Reynolds, Sykora, Townsend, Vrakas, Seratti and Wade; cosponsored by Senators Roessler, Risser, Darling, Farrow, Huelsman, Rosenzweig, Schultz and Wirch.
To committee on Ways and Means.