Tuesday, February 26, 2002
10:07 A.M.
Ninety-Fifth Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Jensen in the chair.
Representative Foti asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.
The prayer was offered by Monsignor Duane Moellenberndt of Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary Catholic Church in Sun Prairie.
Representative Jeskewitz led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Balow, Berceau, Bies, Black, Bock, Boyle, Carpenter, Coggs, Colon, Cullen, Duff, J. Fitzgerald, Foti, Freese, Friske, Gard, Gronemus, Grothman, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hahn, Hebl, Hines, Hoven, Huber, Hubler, Huebsch, Hundertmark, Jeskewitz, Johnsrud, Kaufert, Kedzie, Kestell, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Kreuser, Krug, Krusick, La Fave, Ladwig, F. Lasee, Lassa, J. Lehman, M. Lehman, Leibham, Lippert, Loeffelholz, McCormick, D. Meyer, Meyerhofer, Miller, Montgomery, Morris-Tatum, Musser, Nass, Olsen, Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Pettis, Plale, Plouff, Pocan, Powers, Reynolds, Rhoades, Richards, Riley, Ryba, Schneider, Schooff, Seratti, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Skindrud, Starzyk, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Stone, Suder, Sykora, Townsend, Travis, Turner, Underheim, Urban, Vrakas, Walker, Ward, Wasserman, Wieckert, Williams, Wood, Young, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Jensen - 99.
Absent with leave - None.
Vacancies - None.
Special Guests
Representative Ziegelbauer introduced Hometown Hero Recipients Mike and Pat Chermak, Sally Rasmussen and Chris Kornely of "Heart-a-Rama" from Manitowoc, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
Representative Townsend and Captain Brian K. Davis introduced Hometown Hero Recipients Frank and Anna Karr of the Salvation Army from Fond du Lac, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
Representative Underheim introduced Hometown Hero Recipients Walt Domnie, Mary Groth and Mike and Julie Hert of "Festival of Lights" from Oshkosh, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 564 offered by Representative Leibham.
Assembly amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 590 offered by Representatives Rhoades and Foti.
Assembly substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 672 offered by Representatives Grothman and Underheim.
Assembly substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 749 offered by Representatives Kaufert and Underheim.
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 831 offered by Representative Wieckert.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Bill 851
Relating to: escapes by persons on probation, parole, extended supervision, or aftercare supervision and providing penalties.
By Representative Walker .
To committee on Corrections and the Courts .
Assembly Bill 852
Relating to: awards for crime victims and their families, persons witnessing certain crimes, and children witnessing acts of domestic violence.
By Representative Walker .
To committee on Corrections and the Courts .
Assembly Bill 853
Relating to: light rail mass transit systems and the urban mass transit operating assistance program.
A681 By Representatives Grothman, Suder, Nass, Duff, Owens, Leibham, Hines, Albers, Kedzie and Gundrum; cosponsored by Senators Lazich, Darling and Rosenzweig.
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 854
Relating to: permitting vehicles that are hauling agricultural manure to exceed weight limits on certain highways.
By Representatives Gronemus, Hahn, Owens, Krawczyk, Albers, Grothman, Ryba, Petrowski and Pettis.
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 855
Relating to: provision of telephone number portability by wireless telecommunications providers.
By Representatives Schooff, Musser, Ryba, Plale and Turner.
To joint committee on Information Policy and Technology.
Assembly Bill 856
Relating to: increasing the statewide nursing home bed limit in an instance in which current nursing home licensed beds are transferred.
By Representatives Seratti, Ainsworth, Boyle and Berceau; cosponsored by Senator Hansen .
To committee on Aging and Long-Term Care .
Assembly Bill 857
Relating to: requiring pharmacies and pharmacists, as a condition of medical assistance participation, to charge persons for prescription drugs no more than specific amounts; specifying requirements for rebate agreements between the department of health and family services and drug manufacturers or labelers; expanding prior authorization requirements under medical assistance; requiring the exercise of rule-making authority; making appropriations; and providing penalties.
By Representatives Coggs, Morris-Tatum, Krusick, Kreuser, Pocan, Sinicki, Bock, Young, Turner, Carpenter, Miller, Black, Plouff, Ryba, Balow, Berceau, Huber, Shilling and Lassa; cosponsored by Senators Plache, Burke, Decker and Hansen.
To committee on Health.
Assembly Bill 858
Relating to: the prohibition against underage persons entering or being on any premises operating under an alcohol beverage license.
By Representatives Sykora, Albers, Boyle, Colon, Gronemus, Musser, Powers, Grothman and Jensen; cosponsored by Senators Breske and Zien.
To committee on State Affairs.