Monday, March 31, 2003
Ninety-Sixth Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date:
Amendments Offered
Assembly substitute amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 26 offered by Representative Gunderson.
Assembly substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 51 offered by committee on Corrections and the Courts.
Administrative Rules
Relating to plant and apiary inspection fees and hemlock pest import controls.
Report received from Agency, March 21, 2003.
To committee on Agriculture.
Referred on March 31, 2003 .
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 28
Relating to: designating May 24th of every year as Aircraft Maintenance Technician Day in Wisconsin.
By Representatives Ward, Underheim, Krug, Stone, Krawczyk, Albers, Ladwig, Van Roy and Bies; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, Cowles, Schultz, Lazich and Roessler.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Joint Resolution 29
Relating to: the life of Pianist John Browning of Sister Bay, Wisconsin.
By Representatives Bies, Albers, Hahn, Jeskewitz, Krawczyk, Ladwig, M. Lehman, McCormick, Miller, Owens, Petrowski and Stone; cosponsored by Senators A. Lasee and Cowles.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Joint Resolution 30
Relating to: gratefully acknowledging the kind gift to the people of the state of Wisconsin, by Mr. and Mrs. Frank Theodore (Terry) Andrae, of their property along the beautiful Lake Michigan shore, which became Terry Andrae State Park.
By Representatives LeMahieu, Kestell and Van Akkeren; cosponsored by Senators Leibham and Panzer.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 229
Relating to: establishing a publicly financed health care system for residents of this state, creating the Department of Health Planning and Finance, Health Policy Board, and regional health councils, granting rule-making authority, and making appropriations.
By Representatives Miller, Young, Pocan, Berceau, Plouff, Coggs and Morris; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter and Risser, by request of Coalition for Wisconsin Health.
To committee on Health.
Assembly Bill 230
Relating to: nonpayment of certain legislative expenses.
By Representatives Hahn, Krawczyk, Hines, Jeskewitz, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, McCormick, Pocan and Seratti; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, Brown, Cowles, Leibham, Roessler, Schultz, Wirch and Zien.
To committee on Government Operations and Spending Limitations.
Assembly Bill 231
Relating to: prohibiting an organization or affiliate of an organization that engages in abortion-related activities from receiving certain public funds, prohibiting an organization that receives certain public funds from using other public and private funds for abortion-related activities, specifying restrictions on affiliation between certain organizations, changing the types of information that may be provided by organizations that receive the funds, changing requirements related to the maternal and child health program and family planning services, and requiring audits.
A148 By Representatives Suder, Kestell, LeMahieu, Grothman, M. Lehman, Gundrum, Nischke, Bies, Krawczyk, Hahn, Hines, Albers, J. Fitzgerald, Hundertmark, Weber, Petrowski, Kreibich, Ott, Owens, J. Wood, Freese, Gielow, Ladwig, Nass, Towns, McCormick, Van Roy, Loeffelholz, Gottlieb, Gunderson and D. Meyer; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Kanavas, S. Fitzgerald, Kedzie, Lazich, Zien, A. Lasee, Stepp, Breske, Roessler, Reynolds and Brown.
To committee on Government Operations and Spending Limitations.
Assembly Bill 232
Relating to: failure to pay for gasoline or diesel fuel and suspension of operating privileges after conviction for theft of gasoline or diesel fuel and providing penalties.
By Representatives Weber, Vruwink, Montgomery, Huebsch, Gronemus, Vrakas, Freese, Ott, McCormick, J. Fitzgerald, Hahn, Nass, Townsend, Owens, Zepnick, Loeffelholz, Shilling, Towns, F. Lasee, Jeskewitz, Lassa, Gunderson, Hines, Kestell, Ladwig, Suder, Hundertmark, Ward, Van Roy, Bies, Stone, M. Lehman and Krawczyk; cosponsored by Senators S. Fitzgerald, M. Meyer, Cowles, Breske, Welch, Roessler, Lazich and Kedzie.
To committee on Criminal Justice .
Assembly Bill 233
Relating to: eliminating the Youth Options Program.
By Representatives Loeffelholz, Musser and Bies.
To committee on Education.
Assembly Bill 234
Relating to: a sales tax and use tax exemption for Internet access services.
By Representatives Jensen, Ziegelbauer, Pettis, Huebsch, Gunderson, Suder, Owens, Ladwig, Stone, Hines, J. Wood, McCormick and Vrakas; cosponsored by Senators Leibham, Kedzie, Kanavas, A. Lasee and Roessler.
To committee on Ways and Means.
To joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions .
Assembly Bill 235
Relating to: failure to pay owners of raw forest products and providing a penalty.