Date of enactment: April 20, 2006
2005 Senate Bill 481 Date of publication*: May 3, 2006
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 2003-04 : Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
An Act to amend 39.435 (3) of the statutes; relating to: the maximum amount of a Wisconsin higher education grant.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
367,1 Section 1. 39.435 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
39.435 (3) Grants under sub. (1) shall not be less than $250 during any one academic year, unless the joint committee on finance approves an adjustment in the amount of the minimum grant. Grants under sub. (1) shall not exceed $2,500 $3,000 during any one academic year. The board shall, by rule, establish a reporting system to periodically provide student economic data and shall promulgate other rules the board deems necessary to assure uniform administration of the program.
367,2 Section 2. Initial applicability.
(1) Wisconsin higher education grants. The treatment of section 39.435 (3) of the statutes first applies to Wisconsin higher education grants awarded by the Higher Educational Aids Board for the 2006-07 academic year.