The prayer was offered by Representative Hahn.
Representative Gard led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Ballweg, Benedict, Berceau, Bies, Black, Boyle, Colon, Cullen, Davis, Fields, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Friske, Gielow, Gottlieb, Grigsby, Gronemus, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hahn, Hebl, Hines, Honadel, Hubler, Huebsch, Hundertmark, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Kreuser, Krusick, Lamb, F. Lasee, Lehman, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, Lothian, McCormick, Meyer, Molepske, Montgomery, Moulton, Mursau, Musser, Nass, Nelson, Nerison, Newcomer, Nischke, Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Pettis, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Pridemore, Rhoades, Richards, Schneider, Seidel, Sheridan, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Stone, Strachota, Suder, Toles, Towns, Townsend, Travis, Turner, Underheim, Van Akkeren, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Vukmir, Ward, Wasserman, Wieckert, A. Williams, M. Williams, Wood, Young, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Gard - 98.
Absent with leave - Representative Parisi - 1.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Turner asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Parisi. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Gundrum asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representatives Ballweg, Hundertmark, Kaufert and Nerison. Granted.
Representative Turner asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representatives Sinicki, Wasserman and Zepnick. Granted.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 687 offered by committee on State Affairs.
Assembly substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 944 offered by Representative Musser.
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 957 offered by Representative Petrowski.
Assembly amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 957 offered by Representative Petrowski.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 75
Relating to: the life and public service of Thomas J. Parker.
By Representatives Zepnick, Kessler, Boyle, Cullen, Jeskewitz, Krusick, Lehman, Sinicki, Toles, Travis and Turner; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Coggs, Erpenbach, Miller and Plale.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 958
Relating to: civil liability exemption for assistance provided as the result of an emergency.
A770 By Representatives Wieckert, Loeffelholz, Nischke, F. Lasee, Krawczyk, Jeskewitz, Wood, Strachota, Gunderson, Kreibich, Bies, Sheridan, Musser, Petrowski, Ott, Montgomery, Friske, Pettis, Jensen, McCormick and Ballweg; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Lassa, Leibham, Grothman, Stepp, A. Lasee and Kedzie.
To committee on Housing.
Assembly Bill 959
Relating to: health insurance coverage for children, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and making appropriations.
By Representatives Zepnick, Sinicki, Grigsby, Fields, Vruwink, Seidel, Cullen, Benedict, Turner, Parisi, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Berceau, Boyle, Hebl and Black; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Coggs, Hansen, Erpenbach and Risser.
To committee on Insurance.
Assembly Bill 960
Relating to: recovery of noneconomic damages in medical malpractice cases.
By Representatives Owens, Schneider and Ziegelbauer.
To committee on Insurance.
Assembly Bill 961
Relating to: the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program; state aid to the Milwaukee Public Schools for Milwaukee Parental Choice Program pupils; the Student Achievement Guarantee in Education Program; and independent charter schools.
By Representatives Sinicki, A. Williams, Fields, Colon, Grigsby, Toles, Young, Turner, Richards, Cullen, Kessler, Zepnick, Lehman, Pope-Roberts, Schneider, Berceau, Sheridan, Travis, Wasserman and Kreuser; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Coggs, Carpenter, Jauch, Plale, Miller and Erpenbach.
To committee on Education Reform .
Assembly Bill 962
Relating to: waiver of certain divestment requirements under Medical Assistance.
By Representatives Strachota, Gielow, Vos, Kaufert, Loeffelholz, Hundertmark, Nischke, F. Lasee, Musser, Jeskewitz, Ainsworth, Ballweg and Towns; cosponsored by Senators Roessler and Olsen.
To committee on Medicaid Reform.
Assembly Bill 963
Relating to: instruction permits and probationary licenses issued by the Department of Transportation.
By Representatives Albers, Townsend, Kreibich, Kaufert, Sheridan and Krawczyk; cosponsored by Senator Roessler .
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 964
Relating to: authorization to operate motorcycles, stops required of vehicles at traffic control signals, vehicle failure-to-yield violations, driver education instruction, highway project planning by the Department of Transportation, and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Pridemore, Honadel, Schneider, Hahn, Krawczyk, McCormick, Turner, Kleefisch, Ott, Bies, Pettis, Hundertmark, Hines, Strachota, Gunderson, Musser, F. Lasee, Kreibich, Albers, Sherman, Wood, Petrowski, Suder, Friske and J. Fitzgerald; cosponsored by Senators Zien, Reynolds, Lazich, Brown, S. Fitzgerald, Schultz and Breske.
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 965
Relating to: decals on special interest vehicles that provide parking privileges for persons with physical disabilities.
By Representatives Rhoades, Albers, Gunderson, Hines, Kestell, Krawczyk, Mursau, Musser, Petrowski, Sheridan, Turner and M. Williams.
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 966
Relating to: vehicle owner liability for violations arising from the failure to stop at the scene of an accident and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Wieckert, Zepnick, Pettis, Ott, Owens, Townsend, Bies, Kreibich and Lothian; cosponsored by Senators Roessler and Grothman.
To committee on Judiciary.
Assembly Bill 967
Relating to: maintenance and removal of vegetation obstructing the view of outdoor advertising signs along highways under the jurisdiction of the Department of Transportation and an audit of a program of the Department of Transportation.
By Representatives Honadel, Ainsworth, Albers, Ballweg, Friske, Gielow, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hahn, Krawczyk, Lehman, Moulton, Musser, Nerison, Ott, Petrowski, Richards, Sheridan, Shilling, Staskunas, Stone, Strachota, Towns, Van Roy, Ward, Wood and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Kanavas, Erpenbach, Breske, Brown, Hansen, Kapanke, Olsen and Reynolds.
To committee on Transportation.
Message from the Senate
From: Robert J. Marchant, Senate Chief Clerk.
Mr. Speaker:
I am directed to inform you that the Senate has
Adopted and asks concurrence in:
Senate Joint Resolution 60
Concurred in:
Assembly Joint Resolution 74
Assembly Bill 213
Assembly Bill 383
Assembly Bill 444
Assembly Bill 521
Action on the Senate Message
Senate Joint Resolution 60
Relating to: recognizing February 2006 as American Heart Month and February 3, 2006, as Wear Red For Women Day.
By Senators Darling, Zien, Schultz, Taylor, Olsen, Miller, Roessler, Robson, Cowles, Wirch, Lassa, Grothman, Plale, Erpenbach, Coggs and Harsdorf; cosponsored by Representatives Strachota, Grigsby, Hahn, Fields, Vruwink, F. Lasee, Loeffelholz, Lehman, Lamb, Nischke, McCormick, Berceau, Jeskewitz, Sheridan, Hebl, Kerkman, Boyle, Petrowski, Ballweg, Bies, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Wasserman, Hines, Gunderson, Ott, Toles and Van Roy.
To committee on Rules.
January 30, 2006