Tuesday, January 31, 2006
11:11 A.M.
Ninety-Seventh Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Representative J. Fitzgerald in the chair.
Representative Huebsch asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.
The prayer was offered by Representative Hahn.
Representative Gard led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ainsworth, Albers, Ballweg, Benedict, Berceau, Bies, Black, Boyle, Colon, Cullen, Davis, Fields, J. Fitzgerald, Freese, Friske, Gielow, Gottlieb, Grigsby, Gronemus, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hahn, Hebl, Hines, Honadel, Hubler, Huebsch, Hundertmark, Jensen, Jeskewitz, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Krawczyk, Kreibich, Kreuser, Krusick, Lamb, F. Lasee, Lehman, LeMahieu, Loeffelholz, Lothian, McCormick, Meyer, Molepske, Montgomery, Moulton, Mursau, Musser, Nass, Nelson, Nerison, Newcomer, Nischke, Ott, Owens, Petrowski, Pettis, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Pridemore, Rhoades, Richards, Schneider, Seidel, Sheridan, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Stone, Strachota, Suder, Toles, Towns, Townsend, Travis, Turner, Underheim, Van Akkeren, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Vukmir, Ward, Wasserman, Wieckert, A. Williams, M. Williams, Wood, Young, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Gard - 98.
Absent with leave - Representative Parisi - 1.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Turner asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Parisi. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Gundrum asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representatives Ballweg, Hundertmark, Kaufert and Nerison. Granted.
Representative Turner asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representatives Sinicki, Wasserman and Zepnick. Granted.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 687 offered by committee on State Affairs.
Assembly substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 944 offered by Representative Musser.
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 957 offered by Representative Petrowski.
Assembly amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 957 offered by Representative Petrowski.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 75
Relating to: the life and public service of Thomas J. Parker.
By Representatives Zepnick, Kessler, Boyle, Cullen, Jeskewitz, Krusick, Lehman, Sinicki, Toles, Travis and Turner; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Coggs, Erpenbach, Miller and Plale.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 958
Relating to: civil liability exemption for assistance provided as the result of an emergency.
A770 By Representatives Wieckert, Loeffelholz, Nischke, F. Lasee, Krawczyk, Jeskewitz, Wood, Strachota, Gunderson, Kreibich, Bies, Sheridan, Musser, Petrowski, Ott, Montgomery, Friske, Pettis, Jensen, McCormick and Ballweg; cosponsored by Senators Cowles, Lassa, Leibham, Grothman, Stepp, A. Lasee and Kedzie.
To committee on Housing.
Assembly Bill 959
Relating to: health insurance coverage for children, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, requiring the exercise of rule-making authority, and making appropriations.
By Representatives Zepnick, Sinicki, Grigsby, Fields, Vruwink, Seidel, Cullen, Benedict, Turner, Parisi, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Berceau, Boyle, Hebl and Black; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Coggs, Hansen, Erpenbach and Risser.
To committee on Insurance.
Assembly Bill 960
Relating to: recovery of noneconomic damages in medical malpractice cases.
By Representatives Owens, Schneider and Ziegelbauer.
To committee on Insurance.
Assembly Bill 961
Relating to: the Milwaukee Parental Choice Program; state aid to the Milwaukee Public Schools for Milwaukee Parental Choice Program pupils; the Student Achievement Guarantee in Education Program; and independent charter schools.
By Representatives Sinicki, A. Williams, Fields, Colon, Grigsby, Toles, Young, Turner, Richards, Cullen, Kessler, Zepnick, Lehman, Pope-Roberts, Schneider, Berceau, Sheridan, Travis, Wasserman and Kreuser; cosponsored by Senators Taylor, Coggs, Carpenter, Jauch, Plale, Miller and Erpenbach.
To committee on Education Reform .
Assembly Bill 962
Relating to: waiver of certain divestment requirements under Medical Assistance.
By Representatives Strachota, Gielow, Vos, Kaufert, Loeffelholz, Hundertmark, Nischke, F. Lasee, Musser, Jeskewitz, Ainsworth, Ballweg and Towns; cosponsored by Senators Roessler and Olsen.
To committee on Medicaid Reform.
Assembly Bill 963
Relating to: instruction permits and probationary licenses issued by the Department of Transportation.
By Representatives Albers, Townsend, Kreibich, Kaufert, Sheridan and Krawczyk; cosponsored by Senator Roessler .
To committee on Transportation.
Assembly Bill 964
Relating to: authorization to operate motorcycles, stops required of vehicles at traffic control signals, vehicle failure-to-yield violations, driver education instruction, highway project planning by the Department of Transportation, and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Pridemore, Honadel, Schneider, Hahn, Krawczyk, McCormick, Turner, Kleefisch, Ott, Bies, Pettis, Hundertmark, Hines, Strachota, Gunderson, Musser, F. Lasee, Kreibich, Albers, Sherman, Wood, Petrowski, Suder, Friske and J. Fitzgerald; cosponsored by Senators Zien, Reynolds, Lazich, Brown, S. Fitzgerald, Schultz and Breske.