Tuesday, January 25, 2005
10:00 A.M.
Ninety-Seventh Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senator Alan Lasee.
The roll was called and the following Senators answered to their names:
Senators Breske, Brown, Carpenter, Coggs, Cowles, Darling, Decker, Ellis, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Jauch, Kanavas, Kapanke, Kedzie, A. Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Miller, Olsen, Plale, Reynolds, Risser, Robson, Roessler, Schultz, Stepp, Taylor, Wirch and Zien - 33.
Absent - None.
Absent with leave - None.
The Senate stood for a moment of silent meditation.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Erpenbach led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Chief Clerk's Entries
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Friday, January 21, 2005.
Read and referred:
Senate Resolution 2
Relating to: the senate rules.
By Senator A. Lasee .
To committee on Senate Organization.
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Monday, January 24, 2005.
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 19
Relating to: the sunset of local professional baseball park district sales and use taxes and restricting the use of sales and use tax revenue and auditing the finances of a local professional baseball park district.
By Senators Stepp, Darling, Carpenter, Kanavas, Leibham, Brown, Lazich, Erpenbach and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Vos, Lehman, Turner, Gunderson, Kerkman, Nass, Gundrum, Pettis, McCormick, Ainsworth, Kreibich, Albers, Krawczyk, Honadel and Hundertmark.
To committee on Job Creation, Economic Development and Consumer Affairs.
Senate Bill 20
Relating to: a sales tax and use tax exemption for nonprofit cemeteries.
By Senators Kedzie and A. Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Nass, Townsend, Ott, Stone and Gunderson.
To joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions.
Senate Bill 21
Relating to: county ordinances regarding drug paraphernalia or the possession of marijuana.
By Senator Kedzie ; cosponsored by Representatives Nass, Gundrum, Musser, Kestell, Nischke, Townsend, Hines, Staskunas, Davis, Ott, Hundertmark, Hahn and Albers.
To committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.
Senate Bill 22
Relating to: the number of deputy coroners that may be appointed by a coroner and the appointment of a chief deputy coroner.
By Senator Roessler ; cosponsored by Representatives Underheim, McCormick, Townsend and Musser.
To committee on Health, Children, Families, Aging and Long Term Care.
Senate Bill 23
Relating to: regulating the manufactured housing industry and manufactured home installations; promoting rehabilitation and recycling of manufactured housing; requiring the exercise of rule-making authority; providing a penalty; and making appropriations.
By Senators Roessler, Lassa, Olsen, Brown, Kedzie, Wirch, Breske and Stepp; cosponsored by Representatives Nass, Vruwink, Vrakas, Kerkman, Montgomery, Kreibich, Suder, Vos, Ott, Hines, Hahn, Musser, Molepske, Nerison, Petrowski and Townsend.
To committee on Housing and Financial Institutions.
Senate Bill 24
Relating to: threats to social service workers, juvenile intake workers, child support workers, or school employees and providing a penalty.
By Senators Brown, Roessler and Stepp; cosponsored by Representatives Musser, Ziegelbauer, Shilling, Lothian, Bies, Hines, Ott and Stone.
To committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.
Senate Bill 25
Relating to: requiring a determination of the amount of general school aid necessary to fund two-thirds of statewide school costs and making an appropriation.
By Senators Carpenter, Decker and A. Lasee; cosponsored by Representatives Gronemus, Fields, Freese, Lehman and Pocan.
To committee on Education.
S48 Senate Bill 26
Relating to: waiver of camping fees for certain camping parties, lowering the minimum age for hunting to 10 years old, waiver of fishing license requirement for certain groups, and reducing the number of acres needed to qualify as a resident landowner under the preference system administered by the Department of Natural Resources for the issuance of special deer hunting permits.
By Senators Decker, A. Lasee, Breske and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives Freese, Sherman and Zepnick.
To committee on Natural Resources and Transportation.
The committee on Senate Organization reports and recommends:
Senate Resolution 2
Relating to: the senate rules.
Ayes, 3 - Senators Schultz, A. Lasee and Kedzie.