Tuesday, January 31, 2006
11:00 A.M.
Ninety-Seventh Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senator Alan Lasee.
The roll was called and the following Senators answered to their names:
Senators Breske, Brown, Carpenter, Coggs, Cowles, Darling, Decker, Ellis, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Jauch, Kanavas, Kapanke, Kedzie, A. Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Miller, Olsen, Plale, Reynolds, Risser, Robson, Roessler, Schultz, Stepp, Taylor, Wirch and Zien - 33.
Absent - None.
Absent with leave - None.
The Senate stood for a moment of silent meditation.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Hansen led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Friday, January 27, 2006.
Read and referred:
Senate Joint Resolution 60
Relating to: recognizing February 2006 as American Heart Month and February 3, 2006, as Wear Red For Women Day.
By Senators Darling, Zien, Schultz, Taylor, Olsen, Miller, Roessler, Robson, Cowles, Wirch, Lassa, Grothman, Plale, Erpenbach, Coggs and Harsdorf; cosponsored by Representatives Strachota, Grigsby, Hahn, Fields, Vruwink, F. Lasee, Loeffelholz, Lehman, Lamb, Nischke, McCormick, Berceau, Jeskewitz, Sheridan, Hebl, Kerkman, Boyle, Petrowski, Ballweg, Bies, Krawczyk, Hundertmark, Wasserman, Hines, Gunderson, Ott, Toles and Van Roy.
To committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 528
Relating to: authorization to operate motorcycles, stops required of vehicles at traffic control signals, vehicle failure-to-yield violations, driver education instruction, highway project planning by the Department of Transportation, and providing a penalty.
By Senators Zien, Reynolds, Lazich, Brown, S. Fitzgerald, Schultz and Breske; cosponsored by Representatives Pridemore, Honadel, Schneider, Hahn, Krawczyk, McCormick, Turner, Kleefisch, Ott, Bies, Pettis, Hundertmark, Hines, Strachota, Gunderson, Musser, F. Lasee, Kreibich, Albers, Sherman, Wood, Petrowski, Suder and Friske.
To committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.
Senate Bill 529
Relating to: special education programs for children with disabilities.
By Senators Olsen, Zien, Harsdorf, Darling, Grothman, Roessler, Brown, Schultz, Kapanke, A. Lasee, Stepp, Kedzie, Plale, Leibham and Cowles; cosponsored by Representatives Towns, Kestell, Hines, Newcomer, Hundertmark, Nischke, Pettis, Ott, Mursau, Ballweg, Kerkman, Lamb, Gronemus, Strachota, Lothian, Hahn, Bies, Musser, Petrowski, Ainsworth, Freese, Rhoades, Moulton, Wood, Suder, LeMahieu, Honadel and McCormick.
To committee on Education.
Senate Bill 530
Relating to: drunken driving and creating a penalty.
By Senator Roessler ; cosponsored by Representatives Kaufert, Owens, Albers, Berceau, Gunderson, Jeskewitz, Kreibich and Ott.
To committee on Judiciary, Corrections and Privacy.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Kerkman added as a cosponsor of Senate Bill 524.
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Secretary of State
To the Honorable, the Senate:
Joint Enrolled
Number Publication Date
SJR 56 29 Not Published
Secretary of State
Relating to training program grants.
Submitted by Technical College System Board.
Report received from Agency, January 27, 2006.
Referred to committee on Higher Education and Tourism, January 27, 2006.
By Patrick E. Fuller, chief clerk.
Mr. President:
I am directed to inform you that the Assembly has passed and asks concurrence in:
Assembly Bill 409
S563 Assembly Bill 715
Assembly Bill 719
Assembly Bill 792
Assembly Bill 864
Assembly Bill 912
Amended and concurred in as amended: