Feed for /2007/related/acts/20 PDF
20,3358 Section 3358. 343.38 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.38 (2) Reinstatement of nonresident's operating privilege after revocation by Wisconsin. A nonresident's operating privilege revoked under the laws of this state is reinstated as a matter of law when the period of revocation has expired and such nonresident obtains a valid operator's license issued by the jurisdiction of the nonresident's residence and pays the fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n).
20,3363 Section 3363. 343.39 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.39 (1) (a) When, in the case of a suspended operating privilege, the period of suspension has terminated, the reinstatement fee fees specified in s. 343.21 (1) (j) has and (n) have been paid to the department and, for reinstatement of an operating privilege suspended under ch. 344, the person files with the department proof of financial responsibility, if required, in the amount, form and manner specified under ch. 344.
20,3365m Section 3365m. 343.43 (1) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.43 (1) (a) Represent Except as provided in s. 343.35 (1) (b), represent as valid any canceled, revoked, suspended, fictitious or fraudulently altered license; or
20,3366 Section 3366. 343.43 (1) (g) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.43 (1) (g) Deface or alter a license except to endorse a change of address authorized by s. 343.22 (1) or (2).
20,3374 Section 3374. 343.50 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.50 (1) Issuance. The department shall issue to every qualified applicant, who has paid the all required fee fees, an identification card as provided in this section.
20,3375 Section 3375 . 343.50 (1) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.50 (1) (a) and amended to read:
343.50 (1) (a) The Subject to par. (b) and s. 343.165, the department shall issue to every qualified applicant, who has paid all required fees, an identification card as provided in this section.
20,3376 Section 3376. 343.50 (1) (b) and (c) of the statutes are created to read:
343.50 (1) (b) The department may not issue an identification card to a person previously issued an operator's license in another jurisdiction unless the person surrenders to the department any valid operator's license possessed by the person issued by another jurisdiction, which surrender operates as a cancellation of the license insofar as the person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state is concerned. Within 30 days following issuance of the identification card under this section, the department shall destroy any operator's license surrendered under this paragraph and report to the jurisdiction that issued the surrendered operator's license that the license has been destroyed and the person has been issued an identification card in this state.
(c) The department may issue a receipt to any applicant for an identification card, which receipt shall constitute a temporary identification card while the application is being processed and shall be valid for a period not to exceed 30 days.
20,3377 Section 3377. 343.50 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.50 (2) Who may apply. Any resident of this state who does not possess a valid operator's license which contains the resident's photograph issued under this chapter may apply to the department for an identification card pursuant to this section. The card is not a license for purposes of this chapter and is to be used for identification purposes only.
20,3378 Section 3378. 343.50 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.50 (3) Design and contents of card. The card shall be the same size as an operator's license but shall be of a design which is readily distinguishable from the design of an operator's license and bear upon it the words "IDENTIFICATION CARD ONLY".." The information on the card shall be the same as specified under s. 343.17 (3). If the issuance of the card requires the applicant to present any documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the card shall display, on the front side of the card, a legend identifying the card as temporary. The card shall contain physical security features consistent with any requirement under federal law. The card may serve as a document of gift under s. 157.06 (2) (b) and (c) and the holder may affix a sticker thereto as provided in s. 343.175 (3). The card may also serve as a document of refusal to make an anatomical gift under s. 157.06 (2) (i). The card shall contain the holder's photograph and, if applicable, shall be of the design specified under s. 343.17 (3) (a) 12.
20,3379 Section 3379. 343.50 (4) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126, is amended to read:
343.50 (4) Application. The application for an identification card shall include any information required under ss. 85.103 (2) and 343.14 (2) (a), (b), (bm), (br), (em), and (er) (es), and such further information as the department may reasonably require to enable it to determine whether the applicant is entitled by law to an identification card. The Except with respect to renewals described in s. 343.165 (4) (d), the department shall, as part of the application process, take a digital photograph including facial image capture of the applicant to comply with sub. (3). No Except with respect to renewals described in s. 343.165 (4) (d), no application may be processed without the photograph being taken. Misrepresentations in violation of s. 343.14 (5) are punishable as provided in s. 343.14 (9).
20,3380 Section 3380. 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126, is amended to read:
343.50 (5) Valid period; fees. The fee for an original card and for the reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $9 $18. The card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 4 8 years from the applicant's next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 4 8 years from the applicant's next birthday after the date of issuance.
20,3381 Section 3381 . 343.50 (5) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126 and 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is renumbered 343.50 (5) (a) and amended to read:
343.50 (5) (a) The fee for an original card, for renewal of a card, and for the reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10) shall be $18. The
(b) Except as provided in par. (c) and s. 343.165 (4) (c), an original or reinstated card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 8 years from the applicant's next birthday after the date of issuance, except that a, and a renewed card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 8 years from the card's last expiration date.
(c) Except as provided in s. 343.165 (4) (c) and as otherwise provided in this paragraph, an identification card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) (es) shall expire on the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized or on the expiration date determined under par. (b), whichever date is earlier. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) (es) does not state the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card shall be valid for the succeeding period of 8 years from the applicant's next birthday after the date of issuance specified in par. (b) except that, if the card was issued or renewed based upon the person's presenting of any documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the card shall, subject to s. 343.165 (4) (c), expire one year after the date of issuance or renewal.
20,3382 Section 3382. 343.50 (5m) of the statutes is created to read:
343.50 (5m) Federal security verification mandate fee. In addition to any other fee under this section, for the issuance of an original identification card or duplicate identification card or for the renewal or reinstatement of an identification card after cancellation under sub. (10), a federal security verification mandate fee of $10 shall be paid to the department.
20,3383 Section 3383 . 343.50 (6) of the statutes, as affected by 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is amended to read:
343.50 (6) Renewal notice . At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the an identification card, the department shall mail a renewal application to the last-known address of each identification the card holder. If the card was issued or last renewed based upon the person's presenting of any documentary proof specified in s. 343.14 (2) (es) 4. to 7., the notice shall inform the card holder of the requirement under s. 343.165 (4) (c). The department shall include with the application information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal identification card shall be $18, which card shall be valid for 8 years, except that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card shall be valid for 8 years.
20,3384 Section 3384 . 343.50 (6) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 126, is amended to read:
343.50 (6) Renewal. At least 30 days prior to the expiration of the card, the department shall mail a renewal application to the last-known address of each identification card holder. The department shall include with the application information, as developed by all organ procurement organizations in cooperation with the department, that promotes anatomical donations and which relates to the anatomical donation opportunity available under s. 343.175. The fee for a renewal identification card shall be $9 $18, which card shall be valid for 4 8 years, except that a card that is issued to a person who is not a United States citizen and who provides documentary proof of legal status as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) shall expire on the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized. If the documentary proof as provided under s. 343.14 (2) (er) does not state the date that the person's legal presence in the United States is no longer authorized, then the card shall be valid for 4 8 years.
20,3385 Section 3385 . 343.50 (8) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.50 (8) (a) The department shall maintain current records of all identification card holders under this section in the same manner as required under s. 343.23 for operator's licenses. For each identification card applicant, the record shall include any application for an identification card received by the department, any reinstatement or cancellation of an identification card by the department, the information in all data fields printed on any identification card issued to the applicant, a record of the date on which any verification specified in s. 343.165 (1) and (3) was completed, and all documents required to be maintained under s. 343.165 (2) (a). The department shall maintain the digital images of documents specified in s. 343.165 (2) (a) for at least 10 years. Records under this paragraph shall be maintained in an electronic and transferable format accessible for the purpose specified in par. (c) 1.
20,3387m Section 3387m. 343.50 (8) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.50 (8) (b) The department may not disclose any record or other information concerning or relating to an applicant or identification card holder to any person other than a court, district attorney, county corporation counsel, city, village, or town attorney, law enforcement agency, driver licensing agency of another jurisdiction, the applicant or identification card holder or, if the applicant or identification card holder is under 18 years of age, his or her parent or guardian. Except for photographs disclosed to a law enforcement agency for which disclosure is authorized under s. 343.237, persons entitled to receive any record or other information under this paragraph shall not disclose the record or other information to other persons or agencies. This paragraph does not prohibit the disclosure of a person's name or address, of the name or address of a person's employer or of financial information that relates to a person when requested under s. 49.22 (2m) by the department of workforce development children and families or a county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5).
20,3388 Section 3388. 343.50 (8) (c) of the statutes is created to read:
343.50 (8) (c) 1. Notwithstanding par. (b) and ss. 343.027, 343.14 (2j), and 343.237 (2), the department shall, upon request, provide to the driver licensing agencies of other jurisdictions any record maintained by the department of transportation under this subsection, including providing electronic access to any such record.
2. Notwithstanding par. (b) and s. 343.14 (2j), the department may, upon request, provide to the department of health and family services any applicant information maintained by the department of transportation and identified in s. 343.14 (2), including providing electronic access to the information, for the sole purpose of verification by the department of health and family services of birth certificate information.
3. Nothing in par. (b) prohibits disclosure under this paragraph.
20,3389 Section 3389. 343.50 (10) (intro.) and (a) of the statutes are amended to read:
343.50 (10) Cancellation. (intro.) The department shall cancel an identification card under any of the following circumstances:
(a) Whenever the department determines that the card was issued upon an application which contains a false statement as to any material matter; or.
20,3390 Section 3390. 343.50 (10) (c) of the statutes is created to read:
343.50 (10) (c) Whenever the department receives information from a local, state, or federal government agency that the card holder no longer satisfies the requirements for issuance of a card under ss. 343.14 (2) (es) and 343.165 (1) (e). A card cancelled under this paragraph may not be reinstated under sub. (5) until these requirements are again satisfied.
20,3391 Section 3391. 343.61 (2) (a) 1m. of the statutes is amended to read:
343.61 (2) (a) 1m. In the case of an individual who does not have a social security number, a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the individual does not have a social security number. The form of the statement shall be prescribed by the department of workforce development children and families. A license that is issued by the department in reliance on a statement submitted under this subdivision is invalid if the statement is false.
20,3392 Section 3392. 343.61 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.61 (2) (b) The department of transportation may not disclose any information received under par. (a) 1. or 2. to any person except to the department of workforce development children and families for purposes of administering s. 49.22 or the department of revenue for the sole purpose of requesting certifications under s. 73.0301.
20,3393 Section 3393. 343.62 (2) (am) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.62 (2) (am) If the applicant does not have a social security number, a statement made or subscribed under oath or affirmation that the applicant does not have a social security number. The form of the statement shall be prescribed by the department of workforce development children and families. A license that is issued by the department in reliance on a statement submitted under this paragraph is invalid if the statement is false.
20,3394 Section 3394. 343.62 (2) (b) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.62 (2) (b) The department of transportation may not disclose a social security number obtained under par. (a) to any person except to the department of workforce development children and families for the sole purpose of administering s. 49.22 or the department of revenue for the sole purpose of requesting certifications under s. 73.0301.
20,3395 Section 3395. 343.66 (2) of the statutes is amended to read:
343.66 (2) The secretary shall deny, restrict, limit or suspend any driver school license issued under s. 343.61 or instructor's license issued under s. 343.62 or refuse to renew a driver school license or instructor's license if the applicant or licensee is an individual who is delinquent in making court-ordered payments of child or family support, maintenance, birth expenses, medical expenses or other expenses related to the support of a child or former spouse, or who fails to comply, after appropriate notice, with a subpoena or warrant issued by the department of workforce development children and families or a county child support agency under s. 59.53 (5) and related to paternity or child support proceedings, as provided in a memorandum of understanding entered into under s. 49.857.
20,3400 Section 3400. 344.18 (1) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
344.18 (1) (intro.) Any registration suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall not be renewed or reinstated until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets one of the requirements under pars. (a) to (d) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (1m). Any operating privilege suspended or revoked under s. 344.14 shall remain suspended or revoked and shall not be reinstated until the person pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following requirements:
20,3402 Section 3402. 344.18 (3) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
344.18 (3) (intro.) If a person defaults in the payment of any installment under a duly acknowledged written agreement, the secretary, upon notice of such default given in no event later than 30 days after the time for final installment, shall immediately suspend the registrations and operating privilege of the defaulting person. A suspension or revocation of registration under this subsection shall remain in effect until the person pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m), meets the requirement under par. (a) or (b) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m). A suspension or revocation of an operating privilege under this subsection shall remain in effect until the person pays the fee fees required in s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38 and meets any of the following requirements:
20,3407 Section 3407. 344.19 (3) of the statutes is amended to read:
344.19 (3) Upon receipt of such certification from another state to the effect that the operating privilege or registration of a resident of this state has been suspended or revoked in such other state under a law providing for its suspension or revocation for failure to deposit security for payment of judgments arising out of a motor vehicle accident, under circumstances which would require the secretary to suspend a nonresident's operating privilege or registration had the accident occurred in this state, the secretary shall suspend the operating privilege of such resident if he or she was the operator and all of his or her registrations if he or she was the owner of a motor vehicle involved in such accident. The department may accept a certification which is in the form of a combined notice of required security and suspension order, but shall not suspend a resident's operating privilege or registration on the basis of such order until at least 30 days have elapsed since the time for depositing security in the other state expired. A suspension or revocation of operating privilege under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of security, pays the fee fees required under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n) and complies with the applicable provisions of s. 343.38. A suspension or revocation of registration under this section shall continue until such resident furnishes evidence of his or her compliance with the law of the other state relating to the deposit of security, pays the fee required under s. 341.36 (1m) and satisfies the requirements of sub. (3m).
20,3425 Section 3425. 345.47 (1) (c) of the statutes is amended to read:
345.47 (1) (c) If a court or judge suspends an operating privilege under this section, the court or judge shall immediately take possession of the suspended license and shall forward it to the department together with the notice of suspension, which shall clearly state that the suspension was for failure to pay a forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814. The notice of suspension and the suspended license, if it is available, shall be forwarded to the department within 48 hours after the order of suspension. If the forfeiture, plus costs, fees, and surcharges imposed under ch. 814, are paid during a period of suspension, the court or judge shall immediately notify the department. Upon receipt of the notice and payment of the reinstatement fee fees under s. 343.21 (1) (j) and (n), the department shall return the surrendered license.
20,3427c Section 3427c. 346.03 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.03 (1) The operator of an authorized emergency vehicle, when responding to an emergency call or when in the pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law or, when responding to but not upon returning from a fire alarm, when transporting an organ for human transplantation, or when transporting medical personnel for the purpose of performing human organ harvesting or transplantation immediately after the transportation, may exercise the privileges set forth in this section, but subject to the conditions stated in subs. (2) to (5) (5m).
20,3427e Section 3427e. 346.03 (5m) of the statutes is created to read:
346.03 (5m) The privileges granted under this section apply to the operator of an authorized emergency vehicle under s. 340.01 (3) (dg) or (dh) only if the operator has successfully completed a safety and training course in emergency vehicle operation that is taken at a technical college under ch. 38 or that is approved by the department and only if the vehicle being operated is plainly marked, in a manner prescribed by the department, to identify it as an authorized emergency vehicle under s. 340.01 (3) (dg) or (dh).
20,3425m Section 3425m. 346.93 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
346.93 (1) No underage person, as defined under s. 125.02 (20m), may knowingly possess, transport, or have under his or her control any alcohol beverage in any motor vehicle unless the person is employed by a brewer, an, brewpub, alcohol beverage licensee, wholesaler, retailer, distributor, manufacturer, or rectifier and is possessing, transporting, or having such beverage in a motor vehicle under his or her control during his or her working hours and in the course of employment, as provided under s. 125.07 (4) (bm).
20,3432c Section 3432c. 347.25 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
347.25 (1) Except as provided in subs. (1m) (a), (1r) , and (1s), an authorized emergency vehicle may be equipped with one or more flashing, oscillating, or rotating red lights, except that ambulances, fire department equipment, and privately owned motor vehicles under s. 340.01 (3) (d), (dg), or (dm) being used by personnel of a full-time or part-time fire department or, by members of a volunteer fire department or rescue squad, or by an organ procurement organization or any person under an agreement with an organ procurement organization, and privately owned motor vehicles under s. 340.01 (3) (dh) being used to transport or pick up medical devices or equipment, may be equipped with red or red and white lights, and shall be so equipped when the operator thereof is exercising the privileges granted by s. 346.03. The lights shall be so designed and mounted as to be plainly visible and understandable from a distance of 500 feet both during normal sunlight and during hours of darkness. No operator of an authorized emergency vehicle may use the warning lights except when responding to an emergency call or when in pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law, when responding to but not upon returning from a fire alarm, when transporting an organ for human transplantation, when transporting medical personnel for the purpose of performing human organ harvesting or transplantation immediately after the transportation, or when necessarily parked in a position which is likely to be hazardous to traffic.
20,3432e Section 3432e. 347.38 (4) of the statutes is amended to read:
347.38 (4) An authorized emergency vehicle shall be equipped with a siren, but such siren shall not be used except when such vehicle is operated in response to an emergency call or in the immediate pursuit of an actual or suspected violator of the law, when responding to but not upon returning from a fire alarm, when transporting an organ for human transplantation, or when transporting medical personnel for the purpose of performing human organ harvesting or transplantation immediately after the transportation, in which events the driver of such vehicle shall sound the siren when reasonably necessary to warn pedestrians and other drivers.
20,3435j Section 3435j. 348.15 (3) (f) of the statutes is created to read:
348.15 (3) (f) 1. In this paragraph:
a. "Heavy-duty vehicle" has the meaning given in 42 USC 16104 (a) (4).
b. "Idle reduction technology" has the meaning given in 42 USC 16104 (a) (5).
2. Notwithstanding pars. (a) to (c), sub. (4), and ss. 348.17 and 349.16, and subject to subd. 3., in the case of a heavy-duty vehicle equipped with idle reduction technology, the gross weight of the vehicle, and the gross weight imposed on the highway by the wheels of any one axle or axle group of the vehicle, may exceed the applicable weight limitation specified in pars. (a) to (c) or posted as provided in s. 348.17 (1) by not more than 400 pounds or the weight of the idle reduction technology, whichever is less.
3. This paragraph applies only if the heavy-duty vehicle operator, upon request, proves, by written certification, the weight of the idle reduction technology and, by demonstration or certification, that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times.
20,3435m Section 3435m. 348.21 (3g) (intro.) of the statutes is amended to read:
348.21 (3g) (intro.) Any person who, while operating a vehicle combination that has 6 or more axles and that is transporting raw forest products, violates s. 348.15 or 348.16 or any weight limitation posted as provided in s. 348.17 (1) or in a declaration issued under s. 348.175 or authorized under s. 348.17 (4) or in an overweight permit issued under s. 348.26 or 348.27 may be penalized as follows:
20,3435n Section 3435n. 348.21 (3g) (intro.) of the statutes, as affected by 2005 Wisconsin Act 167 and 2007 Wisconsin Act .... (this act), is repealed and recreated to read:
348.21 (3g) (intro.) Any person who, while operating a vehicle combination that is transporting raw forest products, violates s. 348.15 or 348.16 or any weight limitation posted as provided in s. 348.17 (1) or authorized in an overweight permit issued under s. 348.26 or 348.27 may be penalized as follows:
20,3435x Section 3435x. 349.132 of the statutes is created to read:
349.132 Authority to immobilize, remove, impound, and dispose of motor vehicles for nonmoving traffic violations. (1) In this section:
(a) "Habitual parking violator" means a person who has received, more than 28 days previously, 3 or more citations for nonmoving traffic violations that remain unpaid and for which the person has not scheduled an appearance in court in response to the citations.
(b) "Immobilization device" has the meaning given in s. 341.65 (1) (a).
(c) "Nonmoving traffic violation" has the meaning given in s. 345.28 (1) (c).
Loading...
Loading...