2007 Senate Joint Resolution 8
Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football team.
Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football team on January 1, 2007, completed a successful season finishing with a record of 12-1 for the first time in school history; and
Whereas, the Badgers' victory over the University of Arkansas in the Capital One Bowl marks the second year in a row that the University of Wisconsin has beaten one of the best teams in the Southeastern Conference; and
Whereas, first-year head coach Bret Bielema achieved the best record for a first-year head coach at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was one of five finalists for the Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award; and
Whereas, Bielema, the second-youngest head coach in the nation, guided the Badgers to their first 11-win regular season and is the first rookie head coach in Big Ten history to guide his team to at least ten victories and is one of just three rookie head coaches in NCAA Division IA history to pilot his squad to at least 12 wins; and
Whereas, the Badgers finished ranked No. 7 in the Associated Press Poll and No. 5 in the USA Today/Coaches Poll, earning their highest final ranking since being dubbed No. 4 in both of the final polls of 1999; now, therefore, be it
Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That members of the Wisconsin legislature honor the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football team head coach Bret Bielema, assistant coaches, athletic department staff, and the student-athletes for a record-breaking 12-1 season including a well-deserved Capital One Bowl game victory.