Monday, May 21, 2007
Ninety-Eighth Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date.
Chief Clerk's Entries
Senate Enrolled Proposals
The Chief Clerk records:
Senate Joint Resolution 28
Senate Joint Resolution 48
Report correctly enrolled on 5-18-2007.
Introduction, First Reading, and
Reference of Proposals; Reference of Appointments
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 187
Relating to: the prohibition against underage persons entering or being on any premises operating under an alcohol beverage license.
By Senators Lazich, Breske, A. Lasee and Plale; cosponsored by Representatives Gunderson, Ballweg, Vruwink and Owens.
To committee on Transportation, Tourism and Insurance.
Senate Bill 188
Relating to: eliminating the penalty for participating in an office sports pool.
By Senators Plale and Olsen; cosponsored by Representatives Zepnick, Gronemus, Musser, Vos, Gunderson, Ballweg and Mursau.
To committee on Judiciary and Corrections.
Senate Bill 189
Relating to: creation of a Joint Committee on State Mandates and required funding of state mandates.
By Senators Darling, Kapanke, Harsdorf, A. Lasee, Lazich, Leibham, Roessler and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Roth, Wieckert, Owens, Ballweg, Bies, Friske, Gronemus, Gunderson, Hintz, Jeskewitz, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kramer, F. Lasee, LeMahieu, Lothian, Musser, Nass, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Strachota, Suder, Vos, Vukmir, Wood and Zipperer.
To committee on Ethics Reform and Government Operations.
Senate Bill 190
Relating to: prohibiting the transfer of moneys from the injured patients and families compensation fund for unintended purposes.
By Senators Kapanke, Kanavas, Olsen, A. Lasee, Lazich, Roessler, Darling, Grothman, Leibham, Cowles, S. Fitzgerald, Schultz, Sullivan, Harsdorf, Kedzie and Ellis; cosponsored by Representatives Wieckert, M. Williams, Davis, Pridemore, Owens, Tauchen, Black, Meyer, Nygren, Strachota, LeMahieu, Jeskewitz, Ballweg, Lothian, Musser, Bies, J. Ott, Petrowski, Townsend, Van Roy, Hines, Gunderson, Mursau, F. Lasee, Vos, Kaufert, A. Ott, Wasserman, Suder, Benedict, Hahn and Nass.
To committee on Transportation, Tourism and Insurance.
Senate Bill 191
Relating to: disclosure of terms and conditions applicable to the use of gift certificates, gift cards, and other gift obligations and providing penalties.
By Senators Sullivan, Taylor, Harsdorf, Olsen, Kedzie, Kreitlow, Breske, Plale, A. Lasee, Kanavas, Darling and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Gunderson, Newcomer, Kerkman, Hahn, Musser, Grigsby, Berceau, Vos, Moulton, Sheridan, Nass, LeMahieu, Bies, Albers, A. Ott, Kestell, Petrowski, Kleefisch, Boyle, Fields, Tauchen, Owens, Gronemus, Van Roy, Nygren, Strachota and Cullen.
To committee on Small Business, Emergency Preparedness, Workforce Development, Technical Colleges and Consumer Protection.

Petitions and Communications
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Young withdrawn as a cosponsor of Senate Bill 150.
Advice and Consent of the Senate
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Governor
May 17, 2007
The Honorable, The Senate:
I am pleased to nominate and with the advice and consent of the Senate, do appoint Thomas, Colleene, of Poplar, as a member of the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System, to serve for the term ending May 1, 2009.
Respectfully submitted,
Read and referred to committee on Agriculture and Higher Education.
Referrals and Receipt of Committee Reports Concerning Proposed Administrative Rules
Relating to nursing homes and affecting small businesses.
Submitted by Department of Health and Family Services.
Report received from Agency, May 17, 2007.
Referred to committee on Public Health, Senior Issues, Long Term Care and Privacy, May 21, 2007 .
Messages from the Assembly Considered
Assembly Bill 66
Relating to: authorizing the Wisconsin Health and Educational Facilities Authority to issue bonds to finance projects related to cultural facilities.
By Representatives Wieckert, Kaufert, Stone, Schneider, Fields, Ballweg, Albers, Jeskewitz, Lothian, Townsend, Gunderson, Petrowski, Mursau and F. Lasee; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Sullivan, Lassa and Roessler.
Read first time and referred to committee on Agriculture and Higher Education.