2007 - 2008 LEGISLATURE
February 1, 2007 - Introduced by Senators Risser, Lazich, Erpenbach, Olsen,
Hansen, Miller, Lehman, Decker, Lassa, Darling, Kedzie, Coggs, Roessler,
Wirch, Plale, Schultz
and Sullivan, cosponsored by Representatives Black,
Pope-Roberts, Berceau, Boyle, Kerkman, Newcomer, Mason, Ballweg,
Lothian, A. Ott, Hahn, Nass, Bies, Jeskewitz, Gundrum, Molepske, Wieckert,
Hebl, Travis, Seidel, Pocan, Turner, Townsend, LeMahieu, Hintz, Petrowski,
Staskunas, Mursau, Smith, J. Ott
and Ziegelbauer. Referred to Committee
on Senate Organization.
SJR8,1,2 1Relating to: commending the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football
SJR8,1,53 Whereas, the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football team on
4January 1, 2007, completed a successful season finishing with a record of 12-1 for
5the first time in school history; and
SJR8,1,86 Whereas, the Badgers' victory over the University of Arkansas in the Capital
7One Bowl marks the second year in a row that the University of Wisconsin has beaten
8one of the best teams in the Southeastern Conference; and
SJR8,1,119 Whereas, first-year head coach Bret Bielema achieved the best record for a
10first-year head coach at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and was one of five
11finalists for the Paul "Bear" Bryant College Football Coach of the Year Award; and
SJR8,1,1512 Whereas, Bielema, the second-youngest head coach in the nation, guided the
13Badgers to their first 11-win regular season and is the first rookie head coach in Big
14Ten history to guide his team to at least ten victories and is one of just three rookie
15head coaches in NCAA Division IA history to pilot his squad to at least 12 wins; and
1Whereas, the Badgers finished ranked No. 7 in the Associated Press Poll and
2No. 5 in the USA Today/Coaches Poll, earning their highest final ranking since being
3dubbed No. 4 in both of the final polls of 1999; now, therefore, be it
SJR8,2,8 4Resolved by the senate, the assembly concurring, That members of the
5Wisconsin legislature honor the University of Wisconsin-Madison Badger football
6team head coach Bret Bielema, assistant coaches, athletic department staff, and the
7student-athletes for a record-breaking 12-1 season including a well-deserved
8Capital One Bowl game victory.
SJR8,2,99 (End)