Tuesday, February 24, 2009
11:01 A.M.
Ninety-Ninth Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore Staskunas in the chair.
Representative Nelson asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.

A quorum was present.
The Color Guard posted the colors.
Summer Gokey, a senior at Lac Courte Oreilles High School, led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The invocation was offered by David Grigno, Director of Historical Preservation for the Menomonie Tribe.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ballweg, Barca, Benedict, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bies, Black, Brooks, Clark, Colon, Cullen, Danou, Davis, Dexter, Fields, J. Fitzgerald, Garthwaite, Gottlieb, Grigsby, Gunderson, Gundrum, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hintz, Hixson, Honadel, Hraychuck, Hubler, Huebsch, Jorgensen, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kramer, Krusick, LeMahieu, Lothian, Mason, Meyer, Milroy, Molepske Jr., Montgomery, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nelson, Nerison, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Petersen, Petrowski, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Pridemore, Radcliffe, Rhoades, Richards, Ripp, Roth, Roys, Schneider, Seidel, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, Soletski, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Strachota, Suder, Tauchen, Toles, Townsend, Turner, Van Akkeren, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Vukmir, Wood, A. Williams, M. Williams, Young, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer, Zigmunt, Zipperer and Speaker Sheridan - 96.
Absent with leave - Representatives Friske, Newcomer, and Stone - 3.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Suder asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Friske, Newcomer and Stone. Granted.
The Assembly Sergeant-at-Arms William Nagy announced the arrival of the members of the Wisconsin State Senate.
Joint Convention
The houses went into joint convention.
Senate President Risser presiding.
Senator Risser recognized the presence of Lieutenant Governor Barbara Lawton, State Treasurer Dawn Marie Sass, Attorney General J.B. Van Hollen and Superintendent of Public Instruction Elizabeth Burmaster.
State of the Tribes Address
Speaker Pro Tempore Staskunas introduced Sokaogon Chippewa Chairman Arlyn Ackley, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
The Color Guard retired the colors.
Representative Nelson moved that the joint convention arise.
The question was: Shall the joint convention arise?
Motion carried.
11:50 A.M.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 60 offered by Representative Grigsby.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 20
Relating to: declaring March 2009 American Red Cross Month.
A83 By Representatives Ballweg, Benedict, Bies, Brooks, Hebl, Hintz, Kerkman, A. Ott, Pasch, Petrowski, Pope-Roberts, Ripp, M. Williams and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Cowles, Lehman, Kedzie, Miller and Olsen.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Joint Resolution 21
Relating to: celebrating March 1, 2009, as St. David's Day.
By Representative Davis .
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 78
Relating to: judicial discretion in certain John Doe proceedings and the provision of attorney representation of state employees at John Doe proceedings.
By Representatives Hintz, Spanbauer, Townsend, Ballweg, Shilling, Van Roy, Kaufert, Berceau, Ziegelbauer, Garthwaite, Jorgensen, Sinicki, Friske, Bies and Nerison; cosponsored by Senators Kreitlow, Erpenbach, Taylor, Vinehout, Schultz, Hansen, Lehman, Holperin, Kapanke and Hopper.
To committee on Judiciary and Ethics .
Assembly Bill 79
Relating to: release of persons who commit operating-while-intoxicated offenses and providing penalties.
By Representatives Kleefisch, Ziegelbauer, Davis, Kerkman, LeMahieu, Lothian, Montgomery, Mursau, Nass, A. Ott, Spanbauer, Stone, Strachota, Townsend and Zipperer; cosponsored by Senators Carpenter, Darling and Leibham.
To committee on Public Safety.
Assembly Bill 80
Relating to: an education tax credit for businesses.
By Representatives Zipperer, Honadel, Ballweg, Brooks, Davis, Kaufert, Kleefisch, Knodl, Kramer, LeMahieu, Murtha, Nass, Nygren, A. Ott, Petersen, Ripp, Roth, Spanbauer, Strachota, Suder, Townsend and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Kanavas, Harsdorf, Hopper, Kedzie, Lazich, Leibham and Schultz.
To committee on Jobs, the Economy and Small Business.