Tuesday, May 19, 2009
12:45 P.M.
Ninety-Ninth Regular Session
Assembly Journal
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Representative Richards in the chair.
The Assembly dispensed with the call of the roll.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 17 offered by Representative Staskunas.
Assembly amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 17 offered by Representative Staskunas.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Joint Resolution 54
Relating to: proclaiming Cesky Den.
By Representatives Nerison, Brooks, Spanbauer, Tauchen, Jorgensen, Townsend, Petrowski and M. Williams; cosponsored by Senators Kapanke, Schultz, Taylor and Coggs.
To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 268
Relating to: federalizing the treatment of capital losses.
By Representatives J. Ott, Petrowski, Kestell, Mursau, Kerkman, LeMahieu, Townsend, Vukmir, Nygren, Gundrum, Gunderson, A. Ott, Kaufert, Ripp, Honadel, Bies, Spanbauer and Nass; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Olsen and A. Lasee.
To joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions .
Assembly Bill 269
Relating to: causing injury to a law enforcement officer while resisting or obstructing an officer or while attempting to flee and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Danou, Milroy, Brooks, Kerkman, Bies, Sinicki, Kaufert, Jorgensen, Townsend, Zigmunt, Smith, Berceau, Soletski, Hraychuck, Pasch, Zepnick, Dexter, Clark and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Sullivan, Kreitlow, Plale, Carpenter, Kapanke and Schultz.
To committee on Criminal Justice .
Assembly Bill 270
Relating to: utility aid payments to towns and counties for production plants that generate electricity from wind power.
By Representatives LeMahieu, Turner, Kestell, Fields, Ripp, Smith, Petrowski, A. Ott, Bies, Ballweg, Brooks, Gunderson, Townsend, Lothian, Stone and Spanbauer; cosponsored by Senators Plale, Leibham, Holperin, Taylor, A. Lasee and Schultz.
To committee on Energy and Utilities .
Assembly Bill 271
Relating to: professional land surveyors, the practice of professional land surveying, surveying land abutting navigable waters, and granting rule-making authority.
By Representatives Clark, Roys, Staskunas, Berceau, Danou, Gunderson, Hubler, Jorgensen, Mason, Milroy, A. Ott, Smith and Zepnick; cosponsored by Senators Risser, Lehman, Cowles, Holperin, Schultz and Taylor.
To committee on Consumer Protection .
Assembly Bill 272
Relating to: donating drugs and dispensing donated drugs.
By Representatives Nygren, Van Roy, Suder, Montgomery, Ballweg, Benedict, Bies, Black, Friske, Gottlieb, Grigsby, Gunderson, Kaufert, Kerkman, Knodl, Molepske Jr., Nass, A. Ott, Petersen, Petrowski, Pope-Roberts, Ripp, Sherman, Smith, Soletski, Spanbauer, Strachota, Tauchen, Townsend, Turner and Vos; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Lassa, Lehman, Vinehout, Taylor, Darling, Schultz, Risser, Olsen, Miller, Harsdorf, Hansen, Cowles, Carpenter and Wirch.
To committee on Public Health.
Assembly Bill 273
Relating to: podiatrist-patient privilege, immunity exemption for podiatrists providing emergency care at athletic events, allowing podiatrists to determine an illness or injury and complete forms for the purpose of granting assistance to needy veterans, allowing podiatrists to determine disability for the purpose of issuing certain hunting permits, cooperatives organized to provide sickness care, the Podiatrists Affiliated Credentialing Board, allowing podiatrists to certify driver school instructors' physical fitness, allowing Medical Assistance recipients to freely choose among podiatrists, and giving equal weight to certifications of disability by podiatrists for insurance purposes.
A201 By Representatives Barca, Zigmunt, Benedict, Turner, Kerkman, Steinbrink, Friske, Mason, Townsend, Zepnick, Ballweg, Berceau, Petrowski and Strachota; cosponsored by Senators Lehman, Taylor, Plale, Schultz, Wirch and Holperin.
To committee on Public Health.
Assembly Bill 274
Relating to: allowing probation after certain convictions related to drunken driving.
By Representatives Staskunas, Zigmunt, Ziegelbauer, Jorgensen, Pope-Roberts, Kerkman, A. Ott, Mason and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senators Holperin, Darling and Hopper.
To committee on Public Safety.
Assembly Bill 275
Relating to: the Physical Therapists Affiliated Credentialing Board.
By Representatives Bernard Schaber, Berceau, Black, Danou, Davis, Gunderson, Hilgenberg, Kaufert, Mason, Milroy, Molepske Jr., Nerison, Newcomer, A. Ott, Pasch, Richards, Seidel, Soletski, Townsend, Van Roy, M. Williams, Zepnick and Ziegelbauer; cosponsored by Senators Robson, Coggs, Darling, S. Fitzgerald, Holperin and Taylor.
To committee on Health and Healthcare Reform .
Assembly Bill 276
Relating to: composition of the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System.
By Representatives Smith, Rhoades, Hixson, Soletski, Garthwaite, Turner, Molepske Jr., Shilling, Grigsby, Montgomery, Danou, Kestell, Townsend, A. Ott, Brooks, Lothian and Murtha; cosponsored by Senators Lassa, Harsdorf, Vinehout, Hansen, Kreitlow, Holperin and Schultz.
To committee on Colleges and Universities .
Assembly Bill 277
Relating to: prohibiting discrimination in housing because of domestic abuse victim status and providing a penalty.
By Representatives Parisi, Suder, Seidel, A. Ott, Pocan, Van Roy, Young, Tauchen, Sherman, Petrowski, Grigsby, Wood, Roys, Spanbauer, Berceau, Hebl, Nygren, Pasch, Pope-Roberts, Zepnick, Shilling, Milroy, Sinicki, Toles and Dexter; cosponsored by Senators Coggs, Taylor, Carpenter, Risser, Hansen, Holperin, Erpenbach, Plale, Sullivan and Lehman.
To committee on Housing.
Assembly Bill 278
Relating to: the sale, disposal, collection, and recycling of electronic devices, granting rule-making authority, making an appropriation, and providing penalties.
By Representatives Bernard Schaber, Benedict, Berceau, Black, Clark, Dexter, Hebl, Hilgenberg, Hintz, Hubler, Kaufert, Mason, Milroy, Molepske Jr., A. Ott, Parisi, Pasch, Pope-Roberts, Richards, Roys, Seidel, Sherman, Shilling, Sinicki, Smith, A. Williams and Grigsby; cosponsored by Senators Miller, Carpenter, Erpenbach, Hansen, Lehman, Risser, Robson, Lassa, Taylor and Vinehout.