Tuesday, March 2, 2010
11:11 A.M.
Ninety-Ninth Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by President Risser.
Call of Roll
The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:
Senators Carpenter, Coggs, Cowles, Decker, Ellis, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Holperin, Hopper, Jauch, Kanavas, Kapanke, Kedzie, Kreitlow, A. Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, Lehman, Leibham, Miller, Plale, Risser, Robson, Schultz, Sullivan, Taylor, Vinehout and Wirch - 31.
Absent - None.
Absent with leave - 2 - Senators Darling and Olsen.
The Senate stood for the prayer which was offered by Presbyterian Minister Rev. Scott Anderson, Executive Director of the Wisconsin Council of Churches.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Robson led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Leaves of Absence
Senator S. Fitzgerald, with unanimous consent, asked that Senators Darling and Olsen be granted a leave of absence for today's session.
Chief Clerk's Entries
Amendments Offered
Senate substitute amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 139 offered by Senator Carpenter.
Senate substitute amendment 1 to Senate Bill 323 offered by Senator Lassa.
Senate amendment 3 to Senate Bill 337 offered by Senator Coggs.
Senate amendment 1 to Senate Bill 509 offered by Senator Taylor.
Senate Enrolled Proposals
The Chief Clerk records:
Senate Bill 332
Report correctly enrolled on 3-2-2010.
Bills Presented to the Governor
The Chief Clerk records:
Senate Bill 271
Senate Bill 292
Senate Bill 293
Senate Bill 308
Senate Bill 455
Presented to the Governor on 3-2-2010.
Introduction, First Reading, and
Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 573
Relating to: public access to certain shared law enforcement records.
By Senators Lehman, Hansen, Olsen and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Bies, Hraychuck, Brooks, Clark, Kestell, Mursau, Nerison, A. Ott, Petrowski, Schneider, Townsend, Zigmunt and Turner.
To committee on Rural Issues, Biofuels, and Information Technology.
Senate Bill 574
Relating to: exemption from execution for payments made to certain family farm businesses.
By Senators Harsdorf, Vinehout and Hansen; cosponsored by Representatives Vruwink, A. Ott, Clark, Spanbauer, Suder, Tauchen, Townsend and Vos.
To committee on Judiciary, Corrections, Insurance, Campaign Finance Reform, and Housing.
Senate Bill 575
Relating to: meals that a bed and breakfast establishment may serve.
By Senators Miller, Taylor, Plale, Grothman, Risser and Lassa; cosponsored by Representatives Radcliffe, Roys, Kerkman, Ziegelbauer, Berceau, Ripp, Petrowski, Ballweg, A. Williams and Molepske Jr..
To committee on Transportation, Tourism, Forestry, and Natural Resources.
Senate Bill 576
Relating to: the requirement to pay a conversion fee for having land rezoned out of a farmland preservation zoning district.
S605 By Senators Schultz, Harsdorf, A. Lasee, Cowles, Olsen, Kedzie and Kapanke; cosponsored by Representatives Davis, Ziegelbauer, Kerkman, Vos, Gunderson, Van Roy, Ripp, Townsend, Hubler, Mursau, Roth, Kestell, Spanbauer and LeMahieu.
To committee on Agriculture and Higher Education.
Senate Bill 577
Relating to: limiting eligibility for public assistance programs to U.S. citizens and qualifying aliens, requiring documentary proof of citizenship or satisfactory immigration status, granting rule-making authority, and providing a penalty.
By Senators Grothman, Schultz, Lazich, Darling, Leibham, Kapanke, Kedzie and Olsen; cosponsored by Representatives Mursau, Kleefisch, Ziegelbauer, Vos, Nygren, Kestell, Knodl, Suder, Newcomer, Van Roy, Nass, Kerkman, Pridemore, Roth, Bies, Davis, Honadel, LeMahieu, Meyer and Petrowski.