2009 - 2010 LEGISLATURE
October 6, 2009 - Introduced by Representatives Vruwink, Garthwaite, Black,
Tauchen, Hubler, Radcliffe, Molepske Jr., Danou, Hebl, Strachota, A.
Williams, Zepnick
and Brooks, cosponsored by Senator Schultz. Referred to
Committee on Natural Resources.
AB470,1,2 1An Act to create 15.34 (2) (bg) of the statutes; relating to: membership of the
2Natural Resources Board.
Analysis by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Under current law, the Natural Resources Board consists of seven members
nominated by the governor and with the advice and consent of the senate appointed
for six-year terms. Current law requires that at least three of the members be from
north, and at least three of the members be from south, of a line running east and
west through the southern limits of the city of Stevens Point.
This bill requires that, beginning in 2016, at least one member of the Natural
Resources Board have an agricultural background.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do
enact as follows:
AB470, s. 1 3Section 1. 15.34 (2) (bg) of the statutes is created to read:
AB470,2,24 15.34 (2) (bg) At least one member of the natural resources board shall have
5an agricultural background. The governor may request statewide agricultural
6organizations to submit recommendations for nominees under this paragraph. The

1requirements of this paragraph apply to individuals who are members of the natural
2resources board on May 1, 2016, and thereafter.
AB470,2,33 (End)