Date of enactment: April 9, 2012
2011 Assembly Bill 149 Date of publication*: April 23, 2012
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes 2009-10 : Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication as designated" by the secretary of state [the date of publication may not be more than 10 working days after the date of enactment].
An Act to amend 256.35 (10) (a) of the statutes; relating to: false reporting of an emergency and providing a penalty.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
275,1 Section 1. 256.35 (10) (a) of the statutes is amended to read:
256.35 (10) (a) Any person who intentionally dials the telephone number "911" to report an emergency, knowing that the fact situation which he or she reports does not exist, shall be fined not less than $50 $100 nor more than $300 $600 or imprisoned not more than 90 days or both for the first offense and is guilty of a Class H felony for any other offense committed within 4 years after the first offense.