Present - Representatives August, Barca, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Brooks, Clark, E. Coggs, Craig, D. Cullen, Danou, Doyle, Endsley, Farrow, Hebl, Hintz, Honadel, Hulsey, Jacque, Jorgensen, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knilans, Knodl, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Krusick, Kuglitsch, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Litjens, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Meyer, Milroy, Molepske Jr, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, Nygren, A. Ott, J. Ott, Pasch, Petersen, Petrowski, Petryk, Pocan, Pope-Roberts, Pridemore, Radcliffe, Richards, Ringhand, Ripp, Rivard, Roys, Seidel, Severson, Sinicki, Spanbauer, Staskunas, Steinbrink, Steineke, Stone, Strachota, Stroebel, Suder, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tiffany, Toles, Tranel, Turner, Van Roy, Vos, Vruwink, Weininger, Williams, Wynn, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick, Ziegelbauer and Speaker Fitzgerald - 96.
Absent with leave - Representatives Ballweg, Fields and Grigsby - 3.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Murtha asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Ballweg. Granted.
Representative Roys asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Fields and Grigsby. Granted.
Amendments Offered
Assembly amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 12 offered by Representatives Kestell and Milroy.
Introduction and Reference
of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
Assembly Bill 492
Relating to: duties of review boards for banks, savings banks, savings and loan associations, and credit unions and eliminating the mortgage loan originator council.
By Representative Kramer ; cosponsored by Senator Grothman .
To committee on Financial Institutions .
Assembly Bill 493
Relating to: the procedure for the administrative dissolution of corporations.
By Representative Kramer ; cosponsored by Senator Grothman .
To committee on Financial Institutions .
Assembly Bill 494
Relating to: appointment of notaries public, collection agencies, and community currency exchanges.
By Representative Kramer ; cosponsored by Senator Grothman .
To committee on Financial Institutions .
Assembly Bill 495
Relating to: duties of ski area operators and participants in snow sports, liability of ski area operators, and granting rule-making authority.
By Representatives Strachota, Brooks, LeMahieu, Kerkman, Ballweg, Kestell, Petrowski, Doyle, Severson and Williams; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Galloway, Wanggaard, Schultz and Kedzie.
To committee on Tourism, Recreation and State Properties.
A752 Assembly Bill 496
Relating to: the property tax exemption for certain housing facilities.
By Representatives Vos, Berceau, Endsley, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Wynn, Pocan and Nygren; cosponsored by Senators Schultz and Erpenbach.
To committee on Housing.
To joint survey committee on Tax Exemptions .
Assembly Bill 497
Relating to: providing immunity from liability to a school board or the governing body of a charter school that provides public access to school grounds for certain recreational activities.
By Representatives Bies, Bernier, Brooks, Jacque, Kestell, Kooyenga, LeMahieu, Marklein, A. Ott, Petrowski, Spanbauer, Strachota, Stroebel and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Galloway, Grothman and Lazich.
To committee on Public Health and Public Safety .
Assembly Bill 498
Relating to: regulating certain substitutes for ozone-depleting refrigerants.
By Representatives Knilans, Kestell, Bernier, Endsley, Jacque, Kooyenga, LeMahieu, Rivard, Strachota, Thiesfeldt, Spanbauer, Vos and Van Roy; cosponsored by Senators Grothman, Holperin, Schultz, Taylor, Lasee and Hansen.
To committee on Agriculture.
Message from the Senate
From: Jeffrey Renk, Assistant Senate Chief Clerk.
Mr. Speaker:
I am directed to inform you that the Senate has
Passed and asks concurrence in:
Senate Bill 288
Senate Bill 315
Senate Bill 335
Senate Bill 338
Senate Bill 339
Senate Bill 341
Senate Bill 348
Senate Bill 353
Concurred in as amended:
Assembly Joint Resolution 70 (Senate amendment 1 adopted)
Action on the Senate Message
Assembly Joint Resolution 70
Relating to: recognizing October 6 as German-American Day.
By Representatives Kessler, Thiesfeldt, Jorgensen, Kerkman, D. Cullen, Spanbauer, Zepnick, Pridemore, Sinicki, Krug, Turner, Marklein, A. Ott, Hebl, Clark, Seidel, Barca, Molepske Jr, Toles, Vruwink, Hintz, Danou, Hulsey, E. Coggs, Bewley, Zamarripa, C. Taylor, Grigsby, Bernard Schaber, Radcliffe, Staskunas, Berceau, Richards and Milroy; cosponsored by Senators Risser, C. Larson, Hansen and Taylor.
To committee on Rules.
Chief Clerk Reports
The Chief Clerk records the following bills as messaged to the Senate pursuant to Assembly Rule 50 (1) on January 25, 2012:
Assembly Bill 142
Assembly Bill 303
Senate Bill 199
Patrick E. Fuller
Assembly Chief Clerk
January 25, 2012
Patrick Fuller
Assembly Chief Clerk
17 West Main Street, Suite 401
Madison, WI 53703
Dear Chief Clerk Fuller:
Please add my name as a co-author of Assembly Joint Resolution 95, relating to honoring the 100th anniversary of the Girl Scouts of the United States of America.
Terese Berceau
State Representative
76th Assembly District
January 25, 2012
Patrick Fuller
Assembly Chief Clerk