Tuesday, January 25, 2011
11:20 A.M.
One-Hundredth Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by President Ellis.
Call of Roll
The roll was called, disclosing the presence of a quorum.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 15, the official attendance for session was:
Senators Carpenter, S. Coggs, Cowles, T. Cullen, Darling, Ellis, Erpenbach, S. Fitzgerald, Galloway, Grothman, Hansen, Harsdorf, Holperin, Hopper, Jauch, Kapanke, Kedzie, C. Larson, Lasee, Lassa, Lazich, Leibham, Miller, Moulton, Olsen, Risser, Schultz, Taylor, Vinehout, Vukmir, Wanggaard, Wirch and Zipperer - 33.
Absent - None.
Absent with leave - None.
The Senate stood for a moment of silent meditation.
The Senate remained standing and Senator Taylor led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
Chief Clerk's Entries
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Thursday, January 20 , 2011.
Report of Committees
The committee on Senate Organization reports:
Placed the following appointment on the Senate Calendar of Tuesday, January 25, 2011:
Appointment of DENNIS SMITH
Ayes: 5 - Senators Fitzgerald, Ellis, Grothman, Miller and Hansen.
Noes: 0 - None.
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Friday, January 21 , 2011.
Introduction, First Reading, and
Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
Senate Joint Resolution 5
Relating to: commemorating the first centennial of the joint committee on finance, and honoring members of the legislature who served on the committee.
By Senators Ellis, S. Fitzgerald, Miller, Darling and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives J. Fitzgerald, Suder, Barca, Vos and Grigsby.
To committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 8
Relating to: conforming the state family and medical leave law to the federal family and medical leave law and granting rule-making authority.
By Senators Olsen, Darling, Grothman and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Kestell, Bernier, Spanbauer, Strachota and Stone.
To committee on Labor, Public Safety, and Urban Affairs.
Senate Bill 9
Relating to: the dairy and livestock farm investment credits.
By Senators Kapanke, Harsdorf, Hopper, Wanggaard, Moulton and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Ripp, Nerison, Tranel, A. Ott, Petrowski, Kestell, Petersen, Radcliffe, Brooks, Tauchen, Spanbauer, Wynn, LeMahieu, Steineke, Williams, Mursau, Ballweg, Jacque, Marklein, Nygren and Strachota.
To committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education.
Senate Bill 10
Relating to: restoring the treatment of the exclusion of capital gains for individuals and certain other persons that existed before the enactment of 2009 Wisconsin Act 28, and phasing out the taxation of capital gains.
By Senators Hopper, Darling, Leibham, Vukmir, Galloway, Zipperer, Wanggaard, Kedzie, Ellis, Moulton, Olsen, Lazich and Schultz; cosponsored by Representatives Kuglitsch, Thiesfeldt, Ziegelbauer, Williams, Kaufert, Meyer, Bies, Nygren, Mursau, Spanbauer, Brooks, Knodl, Ripp, Jacque, Rivard, Kapenga, Farrow and Honadel.
To committee on Public Health, Human Services, and Revenue.
Senate Bill 11
Relating to: the filing of certain forms related to Tax Incremental Financing District Number 72 in the city of Milwaukee.
S61 By Senators Taylor, S. Coggs and C. Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Fields, E. Coggs, Kessler, Turner, Grigsby, Young and Staskunas.
To committee on Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs.
Petitions and Communications
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Secretary of State
January 21 , 2011
The Honorable, the Legislature:
Jt. Resolution # Act Number Publcation Date
SJR 1 1Not Published