Wednesday, January 11, 2012
One-Hundredth Regular Session
Senate Journal
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date.
Chief Clerk's Entries
The Chief Clerk makes the following entries dated Tuesday, January 10 , 2012.
Amendments Offered
Senate amendment 1 to Senate Bill 338 offered by Senator Galloway.
Introduction, First Reading, and
Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
Senate Joint Resolution 52
Relating to: commemorating the achievements and contributions of Western Technical College on the occasion of its centennial.
By Senators Shilling, Vinehout, C. Larson, Risser, Schultz and Taylor; cosponsored by Representatives Billings, Doyle, Berceau, Brooks, Danou, Mason, Milroy, Molepske Jr, A. Ott, Radcliffe, Rivard, Spanbauer, Strachota, Toles and Turner.
To committee on Senate Organization.
Senate Joint Resolution 53
Relating to: the life and military service of United States Army Pfc. Jacob A. Gassen (Jake).
By Senator S. Fitzgerald ; cosponsored by Representative J. Fitzgerald.
To committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
Senate Bill 373
Relating to: changes to product liability law and the law governing remedies against manufacturers, distributors, sellers, and promoters of a product.
By Senators Grothman and S. Fitzgerald; cosponsored by Representatives Kooyenga and Vos.
To committee on Judiciary, Utilities, Commerce, and Government Operations.
Senate Bill 374
Relating to: offering anything of value to induce someone to sign or not sign a recall petition and providing a penalty.
By Senators Lazich and Kedzie; cosponsored by Representatives Wynn, Craig, Jacque, Krug, August, Bies, J. Ott, Thiesfeldt, Kuglitsch, Bernier, Rivard, Endsley, Strachota, Mursau, A. Ott, Brooks, Kaufert, LeMahieu, Kramer and Pridemore.
To committee on Transportation and Elections.
Senate Bill 375
Relating to: delaying the restrictions on participation by the University of Wisconsin System in selling or providing telecommunications services.
By Senators Moulton, Galloway, Holperin, T. Cullen, S. Coggs, Schultz, Taylor, Risser, Olsen, Vinehout and C. Larson; cosponsored by Representatives Wynn, Nass, Doyle, Tranel, Bernier, Bies, Spanbauer, Kaufert, C. Taylor, Petrowski, Berceau, Marklein, Molepske Jr, Ripp and Danou.
To committee on Agriculture, Forestry, and Higher Education.
Senate Bill 376
Relating to: creation and coverage of certain positions of the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation under the code of ethics for state public officials and employees.
By Senators Lassa, Zipperer, Leibham, Taylor, Wanggaard, Shilling, Hansen, Cowles, Holperin, Olsen, Schultz, C. Larson, Risser, Moulton, Vinehout and S. Coggs; cosponsored by Representatives Barca, Williams, Jacque, Grigsby, Milroy, Nygren, Wynn, Pasch, Berceau, Stone, Pocan, Hulsey, Brooks, Mason, A. Ott, Hebl, Molepske Jr, Kerkman, C. Taylor, Seidel, Marklein, Clark, Fields and Roys.
To committee on Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs.
Petitions and Communications
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Representative Pope-Roberts added as a cosponsor of Senate Joint Resolution 52 .
Report of Committees
The committee on Economic Development and Veterans and Military Affairs reports and recommends:
Senate Bill 338
Relating to: waiving fees for certain professional and occupational licenses issued to veterans.
Adoption of Senate Amendment 1.
Ayes, 7 - Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard, Galloway, Lassa, Taylor and Shilling.
Noes, 0 - None.
Passage as amended.
Ayes, 7 - Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard, Galloway, Lassa, Taylor and Shilling.
Noes, 0 - None.
S647 Senate Bill 339
Relating to: noncompetitive appointment of certain disabled veterans to classified positions in the state civil service system.
Ayes, 7 - Senators Leibham, Darling, Wanggaard, Galloway, Lassa, Taylor and Shilling.
Noes, 0 - None.
Shore , Sue , of Wausau, as a member of the Wisconsin Housing and Economic Authority, to serve for a term ending January 1, 2016.