Date of enactment: April 8, 2014
2013 Senate Bill 256   Date of publication*: April 9, 2014
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
An Act to amend 218.205 (1) of the statutes; relating to: violation of motor vehicle salvage dealer licensing requirements and providing a penalty.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
218,1 Section 1. 218.205 (1) of the statutes is amended to read:
218.205 (1) No person may carry on or conduct the business of a motor vehicle salvage dealer unless licensed to do so by the department. Any person violating this section may be required to forfeit not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 for the first offense and may be fined not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than 60 days or both for a second or subsequent conviction within 5 years.
218,2 Section 2. Initial applicability.
(1) This act first applies to violations committed on the effective date of this subsection, but does not preclude the counting of other violations as prior violations for purposes of sentencing a person.