Date of enactment: April 16, 2014
2013 Senate Bill 512   Date of publication*: April 17, 2014
* Section 991.11, Wisconsin Statutes: Effective date of acts. "Every act and every portion of an act enacted by the legislature over the governor's partial veto which does not expressly prescribe the time when it takes effect shall take effect on the day after its date of publication."
An Act to amend 287.18 (5); and to create 287.18 (1) (bm) of the statutes; relating to: deposits on the sale of certain lead acid batteries.
The people of the state of Wisconsin, represented in senate and assembly, do enact as follows:
305,1 Section 1. 287.18 (1) (bm) of the statutes is created to read:
287.18 (1) (bm) "Deposit" means an amount charged upon the sale of an item, whether as a separate charge or included in the original purchase price of the item, that is refunded when the item, or another item of the same kind, is relinquished to the person who sold the item. "Deposit" includes a core charge.
305,2 Section 2. 287.18 (5) of the statutes is amended to read:
287.18 (5) Deposit. A retailer may shall charge a deposit of not more than $5 $10 on the sale of a an automotive type replacement battery, such as an automobile, truck, motorcycle, all-terrain vehicle, utility terrain vehicle, snowmobile, golf cart, tractor, lawn and garden equipment, or marine battery or other battery used to start an internal combustion engine. The retailer shall refund the deposit if the consumer delivers the battery to the retailer under sub. (3) (a) 3.