Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and First Regular Session
1:28 P.M.   THURSDAY, February 20, 2014
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Vos in the Chair.
Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
The prayer was offered by Rev. Dr. David Berggren of Sun Prairie.
Representative Clark led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Ballweg, Barca, Barnes, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Born, Brooks, Clark, Craig, Czaja, Danou, Doyle, Endsley, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hulsey, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Klenke, Knodl, Kolste, Knudson, Kooyenga, Kramer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, Neylon, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, J. Ott, Pasch, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Pridemore, Richards, Riemer, Ringhand, Ripp, Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Smith, Spiros, Steineke, Strachota, Stroebel, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Vruwink, Wachs, Weatherston, Weininger, Williams, Wright, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick and Speaker Vos - 98.
Absent with leave - Representative Severson - 1.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Ballweg asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Severson. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Ballweg asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representatives August and Swearingen. Granted.
Special Guest
Speaker Vos introduced Jeffrey Unger of the Employer Support of the Guard and Reservists Volunteer Area 4. Mr. Unger awarded Representative John Murtha with the Patriot Award for his support of his staff member, Sergeant Alicia Schweitzer.
Special Guest
Representative Thiesfeldt introduced the 66th Alice in Dairyland, Kristin Olson, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
Amendments Offered
hist22677Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 465 offered by Representative Kerkman.
hist22661Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 613 offered by Representative Bernier.
hist22428Assembly Substitute Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 626 offered by Representative Doyle.
hist22427Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 725 offered by Representative Jacque.
hist22315Assembly Amendment 1 to Senate Bill 416 offered by Representative Strachota.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist22232Assembly Joint Resolution 101
Relating to: expressing support for the Boy Scouts of America.
By Representatives Sargent, Petryk, Danou, Kahl, Kleefisch, Sinicki, Goyke, Spiros, Wright, Pridemore, Berceau, J. Ott, Bies, Ohnstad, Ringhand, Strachota, Skowronski, Swearingen, Murtha, Jagler, Born, Tittl, Doyle and Jorgensen; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor, Schultz, Hansen and Harsdorf.
hist22436To committee on Rules.
hist21205Assembly Joint Resolution 102
Relating to: recognizing Dr. Norman Borlaug for his role in advancing agriculture by developing new wheat varieties and helping to improve the food security of developing nations worldwide.
By Representatives Ripp, Brooks, Knudson, A. Ott, Williams, Tauchen, Bies, Murphy and Murtha; cosponsored by Senators Harsdorf, L. Taylor, Cowles, Tiffany, Miller, Schultz and Kedzie.
hist22782To committee on Rules.
hist21238Assembly Joint Resolution 103
Relating to: commending and congratulating Chancellor Richard H. Wells for his contributions to the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and the state of Wisconsin.
By Representatives Hintz, Bernard Schaber, Murphy, Ballweg, Marklein, Thiesfeldt, Schraa, Ohnstad, Danou, Hesselbein, Wachs, Kaufert, Kahl, Bewley, C. Taylor and Murtha; cosponsored by Senators Gudex, L. Taylor, Harsdorf, Miller and Lehman.
hist22783To committee on Rules.
hist21488Assembly Joint Resolution 104
Relating to: reaffirming Wisconsin's commitment to its relationship with Taiwan, supporting Taiwan's efforts to secure entry to the Trans-Pacific Partnership, the signing of a bilateral investment agreement between Taiwan and the United States, and supporting Taiwan's participation in the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.
By Representatives Tranel, Kulp, Marklein, Knodl, Kaufert, Williams and Bies; cosponsored by Senators Schultz and Lassa.
hist22784To committee on Rules.
hist20072Assembly Joint Resolution 105
Relating to: honoring the life of Leo H. LaFernier Sr.
By Representatives Bewley and Milroy; cosponsored by Senator Jauch.
hist22822To committee on Rules.
hist20272Assembly Joint Resolution 106
Relating to: the life and public service of Dr. Martin Jack Rosenblum.
By Representatives Richards, Berceau, Bewley, Danou, Hulsey, Jorgensen, T. Larson, Milroy, Ohnstad and Wright; cosponsored by Senators C. Larson, T. Cullen, Lassa and Miller.