Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and First Regular Session
1:50 P.M.   THURSDAY, March 20, 2014
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Vos in the Chair.
Representative Strachota asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
The prayer was offered by Father Dave Timmerman of St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Milton.
Representative Williams led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives August, Ballweg, Barca, Barnes, Berceau, Bernard Schaber, Bernier, Bewley, Bies, Billings, Born, Brooks, Clark, Craig, Czaja, Danou, Doyle, Endsley, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Hulsey, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kapenga, Kaufert, Kerkman, Kessler, Kestell, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, Kolste, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, LeMahieu, Loudenbeck, Marklein, Mason, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nass, Nerison, Neylon, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, J. Ott, Pasch, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Pridemore, Richards, Ringhand, Ripp, Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Severson, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Smith, Spiros, Steineke, Strachota, Stroebel, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, Vruwink, Wachs, Weininger, Williams, Wright, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick and Speaker Vos - 94.
Absent with leave - Representatives Klenke, Kooyenga, Kramer, Riemer and Weatherston - 5.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Ballweg asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Klenke, Kooyenga, Kramer and Weatherston. Granted.
Representative Jorgensen asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Riemer. Granted.
Amendments Offered
hist26577Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 644 offered by Representative Nygren.
hist26494Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 694 offered by Representative Mursau.
hist26493Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 700 offered by Representative Mursau.
hist26452Assembly Substitute Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 700 offered by Representative Mursau.
Committee Reports
The committee on Transportation reports and recommends:
Assembly Bill 829
Relating to: suspension of operating privilege for failure to pay monetary judgment.
Ayes: 10 - Representatives Ripp, A. Ott, Endsley, T. Larson, Kulp, Bernard Schaber, Vruwink, Danou, Riemer and Kolste.
Noes: 4 - Representatives Thiesfeldt, Spiros, Sanfelippo and Kaufert.
hist26777To committee on Rules.
Committee on Transportation
Action on the Senate Message
Senate Joint Resolution 77
Relating to: recognizing Dr. Norman Borlaug for his role in advancing agriculture by developing new wheat varieties and helping to improve the food security of developing nations worldwide.
By Senators Harsdorf, L. Taylor, Cowles, Tiffany, Miller, Schultz and Kedzie; cosponsored by Representatives Ripp, Bies, Brooks, Knudson, A. Ott, Williams, Tauchen, Murphy and Murtha.
hist26476To committee on Rules.
Senate Joint Resolution 79
Relating to: proclaiming May 10, 2014, as Motorcycle Safety and Awareness Day.
By Senators L. Taylor, Petrowski, Carpenter, Vinehout, Schultz, Harris, Lehman, Kedzie, Farrow and Grothman; cosponsored by Representatives Young, Murtha, Czaja, Danou, Milroy, Weatherston, Wright, Shankland, Wachs, Berceau, Zamarripa, Bies, Brooks, Ohnstad, Knodl, Kaufert, A. Ott, Hulsey, Ringhand, Bernard Schaber, Williams, Zepnick, Thiesfeldt and Strachota.
hist26503To committee on Rules.
Senate Joint Resolution 80
Relating to: the life and public service of Bruce Dahmen.
By Senators Risser, Erpenbach and Miller; cosponsored by Representatives Hulsey, Hesselbein, Sargent and C. Taylor.
hist26477To committee on Rules.
Senate Joint Resolution 81
Relating to: proclaiming May 16, 17, and 18, 2014, Syttende Mai Weekend.
By Senators Shilling, Harsdorf, Miller, Lehman, Lazich, Risser, Jauch, Schultz and Lassa; cosponsored by Representatives Nerison, Doyle, Hebl, Knudson, Kahl, Genrich, Milroy, Berceau, Hulsey, Sargent, Bewley, Williams, Hesselbein, Bies, Ohnstad, Murtha, Jorgensen, Wright, Pope and Ringhand.
hist26478To committee on Rules.
Senate Bill 630
Relating to: the display of historical registration plates on collector vehicles.
By Senator Petrowski; cosponsored by Representative Spiros.
hist26770To committee on Rules.