Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State and Local Finance

Assembly Bill 522

Relating to: requiring a city, village, town, or county to share with overlying taxation jurisdictions certain payments for potential services received from a tax-exempt entity.

By Representatives Weatherston, Bies, T. Larson, A. Ott and Smith; cosponsored by Senators Tiffany, Hansen, Lehman and Schultz.

November 22, 2013    Referred to Committee on State and Local Finance

January 08, 2014         Public Hearing Held

Present:       (9)        Representative Stroebel; Representatives Born, Kestell, Weatherston, Nass, Tauchen, Zepnick, Hintz and Berceau.

Absent:       (0)        None.

Excused:     (0)        None.

Appearances For

·      Kyle Christianson - Wisconsin Counties Association

·      Tom Weatherston - Representative - 62nd Assembly District

·      Eric Peterson - Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele

·      Dan Rossmiller - Wisconsin Association of School Boards

·      Jim Ladwig - County Executive - County of Racine

Appearances Against

·      Curt Witynski - League of Wisconsin Municipalities

·      Thomas Ratzlaff - Mayor - City of Park Falls

·      Mark Clear - Alderman City of Madison

·      Evelyn Johnson - City of Fort Atkinson

·      John Weidl - Village of Mukwonago

Appearances for Information Only

·      None.

Registrations For

·      John Forester - School Administrators Alliance

·      Paul Gabriel - Wisconsin Technical College District Board Association

·      Tom Tiffant - Senator - 12th Senate District

Registrations Against

·      Kevin Crawford - Former Mayor - City of Manitowoc

·      Nick Zavos - City of Madison

·      Pauline de Haan - City of Milwaukee

·      Forbes McIntosh - Dane County Cities & Villages Association

·      Kathy Ehley - Mayor - City of Wauwatosa

Registrations for Information Only

·      None.

April 08, 2014             Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1


John Soper

Committee Clerk