Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Second Regular Session
12:55 P.M.   TUESDAY, October 20, 2015
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Pro Tempore August in the Chair.
Representative Steineke asked unanimous consent for a quorum call. Granted.
A quorum was present.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
The prayer was offered by former Green Bay Packers, Deacon Kabeer Gbaja Biamila of the Living Hope Church in Green Bay.
Representative Kerkman led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, August, Ballweg, Barca, Barnes, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Craig, Czaja, Danou, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Gannon, Genrich, Goyke, Heaton, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Jarchow, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Katsma, Kerkman, Kessler, Kitchens, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, Kolste, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, Loudenbeck, Macco, Mason, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nerison, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, J. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Quinn, Riemer, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Steineke, Stuck, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wachs, Weatherston, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick and Speaker Vos - 97.
Absent with leave - Representatives Kooyenga and Ripp - 2.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Murtha asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representatives Kooyenga and Ripp. Granted.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Jorgensen asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for part of today's session for Representative Milroy. Granted.
Oath of Office
Pursuant to Article IV, Section 28 of the Wisconsin Constitution, the Honorable Robin Vos, Speaker of the Assembly, administered the oath of office to Cindi Duchow.
Special Guests
Representative Kerkman introduced Kristine Schumacher, who accepted the posthumous Hometown Hero Award on behalf of her late husband, Lt. Scott Schumacher. Scott’s parents, Don and Barb Schumacher, his sister, Laura Gaylord, Kenosha Fire Department Battalion Chief Matthew Haerter, and Kenosha Alderman Rocco LaMaccia, joined her at the rostrum.
Special Guests
Representative Knudson introduced St. Croix County EMS Dispatcher Tom Barthman and St. Croix County Sheriff Sergeant James Sander, recipients of the Hometown Hero Award. Mr. Barthman and Sergeant Sander are credited for saving the life of Emmett Smith, infant son of Jason and Jamie Smith and twin brother to Sawyer. Mr. Smith addressed the members from the rostrum.
Representative Milroy asked unanimous consent that his leave of absence be lifted. Granted.
Amendments Offered
hist42023Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 289 offered by Representative Petryk.
hist41747Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 362 offered by Representative R. Brooks.
hist41980Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 368 offered by Representative Steffen.
hist41739Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 373 offered by Representative Steineke.
hist41724Assembly Amendment 4 to Assembly Bill 388 offered by Representative Knudson.
hist42076Assembly Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 413 offered by Representatives Doyle and Kahl.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist41817Assembly Bill 427
Relating to: prescription, dispensing, and delivery of opioid antagonists.
By Representative Nygren; cosponsored by Senator Darling.
hist41893To committee on Health.
Committee Reports
The committee on Judiciary reports and recommends:
Assembly Bill 147
Relating to: battery and threats to a judge, a prosecutor, or a law enforcement officer and providing a criminal penalty.
hist41939Assembly Amendment 2 adoption:
Ayes: 6 - Representatives J. Ott, Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson and Kerkman.
Noes: 2 - Representatives Wachs and Goyke.
hist41940Passage as amended:
Ayes: 7 - Representatives J. Ott, Horlacher, Thiesfeldt, Heaton, T. Larson, Kerkman and Wachs.
Noes: 1 - Representative Goyke.
hist41941To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 347