Assembly Journal
One-Hundred and Second Regular Session
1:22 P.M.   TUESDAY, February 16, 2016
The Assembly met in the Assembly Chamber located in the State Capitol.
Speaker Vos in the Chair.
The prayer was offered by Niizhoo Sullivan, a youth member of the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa.
The Color Guard posted the colors.
Michael J. Isham, III, a youth member of the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, led the membership in reciting the pledge of allegiance to the flag of the United States of America.
The roll was taken.
The result follows:
Present - Representatives Allen, August, Ballweg, Barca, Barnes, Berceau, Bernier, Billings, Born, Bowen, Brandtjen, E. Brooks, R. Brooks, Brostoff, Considine, Craig, Czaja, Danou, Doyle, Duchow, Edming, Gannon, Genrich, Goyke, Heaton, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Horlacher, Hutton, Jacque, Jagler, Jarchow, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Katsma, Kerkman, Kessler, Kitchens, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, Kolste, Kooyenga, Kremer, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kulp, T. Larson, Loudenbeck, Macco, Mason, Meyers, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Murtha, Nerison, Neylon, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, J. Ott, Petersen, Petryk, Pope, Quinn, Ripp, Rodriguez, Rohrkaste, Sanfelippo, Sargent, Schraa, Shankland, Sinicki, Skowronski, Spiros, Spreitzer, Steffen, Steineke, Stuck, Subeck, Swearingen, Tauchen, C. Taylor, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wachs, Weatherston, Young, Zamarripa, Zepnick and Speaker Vos - 98.
Absent with leave - Representative Riemer - 1.
Vacancies - None.
Leaves of Absence
Representative Jorgensen asked unanimous consent for a leave of absence for today's session for Representative Riemer. Granted.
State of the Tribes Address
Representative Edming introduced Michael J. Isham, Jr., Chairman of the Lac Courte Oreilles Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians of Wisconsin, who addressed the members from the rostrum.
The Color Guard retired the colors.
Speaker Vos asked unanimous consent that the Assembly stand recessed. Granted.
The Assembly stood recessed.
2:50 P.M.
3:05 P.M.
The Assembly reconvened.
Speaker Vos in the chair.
Amendments Offered
hist54594Assembly Amendment 5 to Assembly Bill 804 offered by Representative Kuglitsch.
hist55321Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 839 offered by Representative Schraa.
hist55320Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 to Assembly Bill 866 offered by Representative Thiesfeldt.
hist55314Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 870 offered by Representative Tittl.
Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Bill 885 offered by Representative Knodl.
Introduction and Reference of Proposals
Read first time and referred:
hist55280Assembly Resolution 28
Relating to: service of Honorable Harold B. Jackson Jr.
By Representatives Kessler, Barnes, Bowen, Johnson, C. Taylor, Sinicki, Zamarripa, Young, Zepnick, Brostoff and Goyke.
hist55643To committee on Rules.
Assembly Joint Resolution 113
Relating to: commending the ardent and remarkable service of Justice Antonin Scalia.
By Representatives Craig, August, Gannon, Kuglitsch, Hutton, Czaja, Spiros, Schraa, Kleefisch, Vorpagel, J. Ott, Heaton, Murphy, Duchow, Krug, Petryk, Thiesfeldt, Brandtjen, Bernier, Kremer, Kitchens, Nygren, Knudson, Katsma, Kulp, Allen, Horlacher, Kooyenga, R. Brooks, Jarchow, Vos, Tranel and T. Larson; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Vukmir, Kapenga, Gudex, Nass, Marklein, Lasee, LeMahieu, Moulton, Darling, Wanggaard, Roth, Harsdorf and Olsen.
hist54661To committee on Rules.
hist54678Assembly Joint Resolution 114
Relating to: commemorating the 100th anniversary of Marshfield Clinic and declaring Thursday, October 13, 2016, as Marshfield Clinic Day in Wisconsin.
By Representatives Kulp and Spiros; cosponsored by Senators Moulton and Petrowski.
hist54680To committee on Rules.
hist55277Assembly Joint Resolution 115
Relating to: congratulating First Lady Tonette Walker and the Fostering Futures Steering Committee.
By Representative Ballweg; cosponsored by Senator Darling.
hist55278To committee on Rules.
Assembly Bill 921
Relating to: facilities serving persons with traumatic brain injuries.
By Representatives Kleefisch, Berceau, Brandtjen, Murphy, Schraa, Skowronski, Subeck, Barnes, Sinicki, Johnson and Goyke; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Carpenter and Harris Dodd.
hist54660To committee on Health.