Senate Journal
One-Hundred and Second Regular Session
3:20 P.M.   THURSDAY, January 22, 2015
The Senate met.
The Senate was called to order by Senator Fitzgerald.
Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (6), the Chief Clerk makes the following entries under the above date.
Introduction, First Reading, and Reference of Proposals
Read and referred:
hist31678Senate Joint Resolution 3
Relating to: congratulating the University of Wisconsin-Madison men's basketball team on its 2013-14 basketball season and reaching the NCAA Final Four.
By Senators Risser, S. Fitzgerald, Erpenbach, Hansen, Harsdorf, LeMahieu, Marklein, Nass, Olsen, Ringhand, Shilling, L. Taylor, Vinehout, Wanggaard and Wirch; cosponsored by Representatives C. Taylor, Berceau, Allen, Barca, Brandtjen, Brostoff, Considine, Danou, Edming, Genrich, Goyke, Hebl, Hesselbein, Hintz, Jacque, Johnson, Jorgensen, Kahl, Kerkman, Knodl, Kolste, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Nygren, Ohnstad, A. Ott, Petryk, Pope, Quinn, Riemer, Ripp, Sargent, Shankland, Sinicki, Subeck, Tauchen, Tittl, Tranel, Wachs and Zamarripa.
hist31721To committee on Senate Organization.
Read first time and referred:
hist31679Senate Bill 7
Relating to: the newspaper recycling fee and the recycled content of newsprint used in newspapers.
By Senators Harsdorf, Gudex, LeMahieu, Tiffany, Marklein, Lasee, Olsen and Bewley; cosponsored by Representatives Czaja, Novak, Ballweg, Bernier, Jarchow, Kleefisch, Knodl, Knudson, Macco, Mursau, Murtha, A. Ott, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Steffen and Thiesfeldt.
hist31722To committee on Natural Resources and Energy.
Report of Committees
The committee on Workforce Development, Public Works, and Military Affairs reports and recommends:
NEWSON, SECRETARY REGGIE J., of Madison, as Secretary of the Department of Workforce Development, to serve for the term ending at the pleasure of the Governor.
Ayes: 5 - Senators Roth, Gudex, Farrow, C. Larson and Lassa.
Noes: 0.
Committee on Workforce Development, Public Works, and Military Affairs
Petitions and Communications
hist31720Pursuant to Senate Rule 17 (5), Senator Harris Dodd withdrawn as a co-author of Senate Bill 4.
State of Wisconsin
Office of the Senate President
January 22, 2015
The Honorable, the Senate:
Pursuant to Senate Rule 11 (10), this letter establishes the time periods access to the Senate floor is restricted, except to individuals or groups mentioned within Senate Rule 11.
The time period is one hour prior to the start of the day’s calendar as established by the Committee on Senate Organization. The restricted time period ends thirty minutes after the Senate adjourns. If the Senate stands in recess, the restrictions remain in effect during the recess.
If there is need to change the times, I will contact the Senate Chief Clerk and Senate Sergeant at Arms about the changes.
Senate President
Referrals and Receipt of Committee Reports Concerning Proposed Administrative Rules
Relating to assessment of agricultural property.
Submitted by Department of Revenue.
hist31677Report received from Agency, January 21, 2015.
hist31723Referred to committee on Revenue, Financial Institutions, and Rural Issues, January 22, 2015.
Messages from the Assembly
By Patrick E. Fuller, chief clerk.
Mr. President:
I am directed to inform you that the Assembly has passed and asks concurrence in:
hist31764Assembly Bill 2
hist31765Assembly Bill 3
hist31766Assembly Bill 4
hist31767Assembly Bill 5
hist31768Assembly Bill 6
hist31769Assembly Bill 8
Concurred in:
hist31763Senate Joint Resolution 2
Senator Fitzgerald, with unanimous consent, asked that the Senate stand adjourned until Tuesday, January 27, 2015.
3:21 P.M.